Skip to content

I’m a winner – in more ways than one.

January 4, 2009

 

Way back when, on this blog post, one of my commenters, Mary, awarded me this:

Here’s what she said:

You have been nominated for the Brillante Weblog award. Post the award on your blog and list 6 qualities or values that are most important to you and 6 negative things you condemn . Then pick other people that you think are worthy. (or not, if you don’t want to!) I appreciate you sharing your life stories. Mary

Thank you, Mary, and I’m sorry it took me more than two months to acknowledge your generosity. I’m such a loser in that regard and maybe don’t deserve this award. Still, I wanted to acknowledge your kindness and provide the list of qualities asked.

Six qualities I value

  • Positive thinking – even when times get tough, there is always something to be positive about
  • Persistence – continuing to get up every day and persist at whatever challenges lie ahead of you, moving slowly toward whatever goal or dream you have
  • Kindness – especially toward children and animals and those less fortunate than ourselves
  • Generosity – I don’t mean with money; I mean people who are generous with their time, their love, their knowledge, their skills
  • Patience & tolerance – these go together for me. It’s a principle I try to live by and I admire and respect it when I see it exhibited in others. I’m not perfect, I get impatient and intolerant, but I strive to show patience and tolerance even toward the most stupid and irritating people (or situations) (that was a bit of lightheartedness there – please take it as such
  • Faith & acceptance – again, I think these go together. This means a deep seated sense that everything is just as it should be, that there is order to the universe, whether you believe that is a God, a Higher Power, or the tree in your back yard running the show.
  • Humor – that’s #7, but what the heck.

Six negative things I condemn. Well, first, I must say I don’t condemn anything. If I did, I would be judging, and I try not to be judgmental, although I fail many times over. However, there are things I steer clear of…

  • Negativity – the attitude that life always sucks, this situation always sucks, whatever. I don’t have time for that energy.
  • Victim mentality – another attitude I don’t have patience for (see above quality that I still strive to perfect…) I don’t believe we are victims of life (except for the obvious victims of criminal behavior – that’s not what I’m talking about here.) We make choices in our lives and we need to accept responsibility for them. Additionally, the attitude that people are always out to “screw you”, or big corporations are evil, anything along that line, I just don’t have time or energy for.
  • Meanness
  • Dishonesty
  • Small-mindedness
  • Jealousy

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Next, one of my favoritest all-time bloggers, Joan, gave me this award and I am very humbled by her comments:

awardcard-from-javaqueen2

The Gold Card award, I pass on to Little Miss Sew & Sew. She is the sweetest, most awesome and understanding lady around. She has also inspired me with her weight loss efforts. She is one hot mama! She also sews up a storm.

I have to pass these on now…

For the Brilliante Weblog award, I nominate the Vinyl Villager. He always makes me laugh.

For the Gold Card award, I pass this on to my friend, Wendy, from Life with Buck. I feel a strong kinship with her, we’re both writers, and we have twin Chihuahuas… (not really, but they could be.) Plus, she’s “wicked” funny.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Thank you! Thank you!

2 Comments
  1. January 7, 2009 12:05 am

    2 great awards! Congrats!

  2. February 24, 2009 6:31 pm

    How did I miss this?? This is the first Im seeing it…please know I wasnt being ungrateful. I feel a little better seeing that it took you two months to post yours too!
    (the little incoming links thing in our admin pages seems to be working properly for the first time in months, which led me here!)

Comments are closed.

