Skip to content

Pump Up the Volume

January 9, 2009

First, listen to this tune.

Now….

Walk, run, sew, sing, dance, wash your car, vacuum the floor, fold the laundry, skip, lift a couple cans of soup, climb the stairs, do anything. I *dare* you to sit still while listening to this song. Come on… join in with me!

This song came in my head today when I went out for some exercise. I am committed to increasing the level of exertion or intensity every time I get out to exercise. Last time, it was running a little bit for the first time. Today it was walking faster and running a bit more. Today I made it up to Safeway (a mile away) in fifteen minutes. This used to take me a half hour, then twenty-some minutes, now only 15. Soon it will be nine minutes because I’ll be running the whole way. Well, maybe not soon, but someday.

Volume also comes into play when I choose what to eat. I am one of those people who likes a LOT of food on my plate. I never knew how to judge when I was hungry, and lets be honest, I just like eating. So now to get more when I eat, I pump up the volume with veggies, lean meats, whole grains. Those things Weight Watchers calls “filling foods”. And you know what? They’re right. They are filling.

Today is a good day. I now know that I don’t need to take half a day or any really significant amount of time out of my day to work out. All I invested was thirty minutes today on my “lunch hour”. (I work from home so I really don’t have a lunch hour.) And I still had time to eat some leftover mexican soup for lunch.

A little side bonus? I got honked at while I was out walking. Okay, well, they could have been honking at another car, but I like to think they were honking at me. That’s my story, and I’m sticking with it. LOL.

Now, replay that song! I’m going to.

2 Comments
  1. January 10, 2009 6:18 am

    I love this song…. reminds me of my bar hopping days in high school (Yes, I know …) and college. I loved to dance back in the day. Fun post, and I’m so excited to hear you got honked at. Whoa-hoo!!!

  2. January 11, 2009 9:54 am

    GG – Thanks! I love this song and the beat. I was a young mama when this came out, but that didn’t stop me from loving it.

Comments are closed.

