Skip to content

Blindingly, Maddeningly Frustrated

January 11, 2009

My biggest goal for the weekend was to get some things on my home improvement list knocked off so that I could sew some window treatments. I started by attempting to hang a set of blinds in my kitchen that I’ve had for a good six months now, in the box, waiting for someone – anyone – to magically hang them for me. Really, I had been procrastinating because it never fails that even with a drill, the screws go in crooked, hit a stud, the heads get stripped, and it becomes a huge, long, maddeningly frustrating multi-hour long process.

Today was no different. I have a power drill with screwdriver attachments, but it’s an old one, and it doesn’t go in reverse. So when the screw goes in crooked, or hits a stud and the head gets stripped, there’s no way to get it out except to use pliers.

Anyway, I got so frustrated that I went on a long walk. Let me tell you, I seriously considered just sitting on the couch and eating. Eating everything I shouldn’t eat and really didn’t want to eat. But I didn’t. I was just feeling sorry for myself, so I walked an extra mile and walked extra fast and hard. When I got home, I finally got the blinds hung. Those puppies are never coming down.

Now I need to dig through my stash of fabric and find something that will make a nice valance over them. Finally, except for the ceiling, the kitchen will be done.

Next, I have some curtain rods to hang. Let’s hope for a more calm, smooth installation with those, eh?

Sewing will have to wait. I guess. Maybe I can get a little done each night during the week. Except for tomorrow night. Tomorrow is my weigh in night!

3 Comments
  1. January 12, 2009 3:02 am

    I Love your site!!! Come visit me at http://wreathconnection.wordpress.com/ or http://www.wreathconnection.com or add me as a friend on http://myspace.com/wreathconnection Last Name Kish

  2. January 12, 2009 5:36 am

    “easy to install” and “easy to assemble” never are. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. LauraM62 permalink
    January 14, 2009 3:37 am

    I’d say some a new drill maybe in order ๐Ÿ˜† On a serious side you may want to try pre-drilling your holes before sinking your screws. I have found it gives the screws a good guide, and means you have already cleared the path through the studs, metal corner guards, etc.

Comments are closed.

