Skip to content

A One Dollar Tip

January 14, 2009

I don’t belong to a gym. I’ve tried it a few times and it’s just a waste of money for me. My opinion may change in the future, but for now, I don’t choose to spend my money there. I just don’t care for standing on a rubber mat walking in place staring at the parking lot – or looking at my reflection in a mirror or window – for an hour. Now, if I had a regular buddy to go with me, that might be different, but I kind of doubt it.

So what do I do? I get out and walk whenever possible, but some days I get so busy with my work that I really don’t get outside at all. The last two days, I’ve only stepped outside to let the dogs out. Seriously. I’ve been working hard and catching up on some writing that I have to deliver this Friday for work.

But I can’t sit on my butt and not do anything. So what do I do? I don’t own a treadmill or elliptical at home. I do have some free weights that were given to m (soup cans work too), but the best little tool is this thing I have hanging by my desk.

IMG_8234

I got that resistance stretchy thing for $1 – yes, one dollar – at Target. And it’s pink. Even better. It came with instructions – four exercises and I think my favorite one is the bicep curl. (Essentially, put the elastic under your foot and pull upwards with the handles.) There are so many things you can do with one of those stretchy tubes. My old physical therapist used to have me to various exercises with them. Now if I can only remember what they were. 😉

If I’ve been sitting a particularly long time – which I shouldn’t be doing – I put my headset on, turn up the music, stand up, stretch with the stretchy thing, or pick up the free weights while on a conference call and walk in place. Kinda like marching in place. Or you could run in place.

It’s not much, but every little bit of exercise helps and it has this wonderful cumulative effect.

One Comment
  1. January 15, 2009 6:44 am

    hmmm, I think I lost the first 2 tries at this comment ;-(

    I’ve got one of those stretchy cords too. My massage therapist gave me a bunch of exercises for my arms and back. It worked great but as the pain subsided, I gradually stopped doing them. Must start again. Your progress is giving me some much needed motivation of my own…thanks 🙂

Comments are closed.

