Skip to content

Prepping for a Sewing Sunday

January 17, 2009

I did a bunch of running around today. Got my nails done – they look so purty. Got some groceries because I decided I’m bored with what’s in my cupboards and fridge. I also went to Joann’s where they were having a wonderful sale. Half off so much fun stuff. I picked up some cool fleece to make some doggie beds for my brother who has two black labs. I found some cozy flannel for a secret gift for a friend – I’ll share with you once I’ve made it but since she reads this blog, I can’t post it here. I also found some darling quilting fabric with spoiled little Chihuahuas on it. I plan to make myself a fun apron with that. I will take pictures of the fabric and show you later so please check back.

Joann’s was also having a sale on Simplicity patterns so I picked up these.

Simplicity 3750

I love every view of this top, and I particularly like that it is so close in style to my favorite Target top I got this last summer. Depending on the fabric choices, it’s also a great top for my daughters.

It’s not yet warm enough for that top, so I found some jacket patterns for some fleece I want to use up out of my stash. I had recently bought a warm fleece jacket from Target for $8 and it keeps me so warm on these cold winter days. So I chose these patterns.

Simplicity 4032

I like the blue one smack in the center and I bet it would be cute with a zipper up the front too. I may just try that.

Simplicity 4025

Yes, these are similar to the ones above, but for 99 cents you can’t go wrong.

So tomorrow I plan on sleeping in a bit, turning on the football games on TV, and sewing, sewing, sewing all day long. Well, I may take a break and get a walk in to get a Jamba Juice, but we’ll see. 🙂

Happy Weekend everyone. Stay tuned, I hope to have some – at least one – finished projects to show tomorrow night!

4 Comments
  1. January 17, 2009 11:45 pm

    I cannot even imagine being able to sew myself a shirt! You are awesome! The patterns are really cute…. good for you and you also, have a nice weekend!

  2. January 18, 2009 8:10 am

    love that top pattern. does it have a zipper? or is it for a knit? i hope to having a sewing sunday too.

  3. January 18, 2009 8:18 am

    JavaQueen – if you can sew a straight line with a machine, then you can learn to sew. Seriously. If you lived nearer, I would be happy to teach you.

    Mermaids – doesn’t appear to have a zipper and doesn’t say it’s for knits. Interesting. It calls for laundered cottons, georgettes, charmeuse, crepe back satin, crinkled gauze and such. It has a center back seam so it would be easy to put a zipper in. I also think I’m brave enough to try it with a knit as well. I have some stash that I can use to make a knit muslin. Stay tuned! Experimenting is in order.

  4. Mary permalink
    January 18, 2009 8:55 am

    I have made a couple of the 4032 jackets…they make up real quick and are super easy. I’m sure you could incorporate a zipper if you wanted to. Enjoy your Sunday…sounds like you have a great plan! Mary

Comments are closed.

