Skip to content

55 Pounds….

January 22, 2009

This week, I finally hit another milestone and earned another award at Weight Watchers: 55 pounds lost. I have been discounting this accomplishment especially since watching the Biggest Loser and people on the show losing 15 pounds in one week. I felt like my accomplishment wasn’t “that much.” I was sorely wrong. A one pound loss in one week is a good loss. It means I’m learning to manage my food and make changes that are sustainable over the long term.

But back to the discounting thing. Not sure why I’m doing that because it really is significant. Especially when a friend said to me “What is that? Like, a 10 year old girl?” Ya, pretty much.

So, I thought it would be fun to see what else weighs 55 pounds. A search on Google comes up with these gems.

A rhea weighs 55 pounds.

The rhea

(Source: http://animals.howstuffworks.com/birds/rhea-info.htm)

An Eton electric folding bike weighs 55 pounds.

(Source: http://largoscooters.com/etoneco.html)

An 85 Lamps Chandelier

85lamps.jpg

(Source: 85 Lamps Chandelier)

This kayak weighs 55 pounds

Scupper Pro TW Anatomy

(Source: http://www.oceankayak.com/kayaks/single_kayaks/scupper_pro_tw.html)

This fish weighs 55 pounds. Notice how it takes two men to hold it.

Kasilof King Salmon

(Source) 2005-fish-year.html)

 

So, as I can clearly see, and you can too now, 55 pounds is nothing to sneeze at. Now my next milestone is 60 pounds. And I have only about 35 pounds total left to lose to hit my ultimate goal.

9 Comments
  1. January 22, 2009 6:15 pm

    congrats! i particularly loved the fish photo. 55 pounds is amazing.

    btw, i left a little something for you on my blog. šŸ™‚

    Thanks, Mermaids… heading over to check out your blog.

  2. January 22, 2009 7:18 pm

    Wow, that really puts it into perspective! My poodle weighs 60 lbs, but she is overweight and should weigh about 55, so you lost a standard poodle! I’m trying to imagine what a relief it must be to stop carrying my dog around all the time, LOL. It must feel so much better!

    Birdpress – it really does put it into perspective, doesn’t it? You *will* feel better when you quit carrying around that dog! LOL.

  3. January 23, 2009 12:26 am

    CONGRATS! Oh, that’s a big fish! Wowowowowo! I’m really happy for you, and love what you wrote about knowing that you are accomplishing what you set out to even if its 1 lb per wk; it means your doing it the right way. So excited for you and know you’ll go all the way! This post is also a great reminder to me, thank you!

    JavaQueen – you can do it too! Every pound counts and should be acknowledged. That’s my opinion. And my incentive to doing it the right way is that I don’t ever want to be the way I was again and have to work so hard to get it all off again.

  4. January 23, 2009 3:55 am

    Congrats! I know how you feel with the it’s not that much way of thinking. I thought the same until I realised that I had lost more weight than both of my kids combined. Well done. It is an amazing feeling to reach that finally goal and stay there. šŸ™‚

    Liz – really? That is incredible! Congrats to you too and thank you for visiting and commenting on my blog!

  5. January 23, 2009 6:26 am

    Way to go! Now when people ask how much you have lost, you can say “a kayaks worth”

    Hahaha, VDK, I may just say that!

  6. run4change permalink
    January 23, 2009 11:15 am

    Awesome post and fantastic job. I love how you showed things that weighed 55. It really made me think about the pure bulk of your weight loss and how great it is. Must feel great too. Thanks for this fun and encouraging post

    Just think, you have lost a whole person yourself. It does feel great, and I found it a great way to really quit discounting my accomplishment. I hope it inspires others to do the same thing.

  7. January 23, 2009 12:25 pm

    Congrats! Very commendable.

  8. January 26, 2009 8:15 am

    Ha! YOU ROCK! The fish photo is really dramatic, isn’t it? The reality of your weight loss really makes an impact when you see that fish. And the scooter. My God, what an accomplishment.

    You know, and I’m sure you do, the reason those people on Biggest Loser have such a major weight loss those first weeks is because they’re larger than you to begin with. What you’ve done, and your enthusiastic attitude about the whole thing, is just as inspiring as the Biggest Loser contestants. You might even be more inspiring, to me anyway, because you share your whole outlook and the details of the journey. AND you don’t even lock yourself in a dark room with a table of Twinkies and Krispy Kremes. I hate when they do that!

  9. January 26, 2009 9:59 am

    congratulations! Its gotta feel good when you put it into perspective like that.

Comments are closed.

