Skip to content

Earthquakes & Dogs

January 30, 2009

We had an earthquake this morning at about 5:25. It woke up my daughter and me. It actually felt like the washer was on the spin cycle because that always shakes the upper floor of our home when we’re washing heavy items.

The earthquake was measured at 4.6 on the Richter scale. The last big earthquake we had in this area was February 28, 2001, which was big and caused a lot of damage. This one, today, was “moderate” and centered not too far from where I live. I doubt we’ll hear many reports of damage. I’ve lived through a lot of earthquakes and fortunately never have been injured or hurt.  They are a bit nerve wracking, and of course, now we’ll be hearing about it for the next two days on the news, which is fine by me if it preempts the ceaseless discussion of the economy, layoffs, and Michele Obama’s First 100 Days of Fashion. Oh, sorry, I digressed. 😉

One of the callers to the TV station we like to watch was talking about their dog and how the dog sensed the pending earthquake yesterday afternoon and tried to leave the house. The two newscasters also mentioned that their dogs reacted somehow psychically of the pending earthquake. My youngest (also up and watching the news) and I looked up at each other, paused, looked at our dogs who all three were sounds asleep before, during, and after the earthquake, and we laughed out loud.

IMG_4964

Seems our little doggies missed the handing out of the natural disaster sniffing & predicting gene.

But we love them anyway.

4 Comments
  1. January 30, 2009 7:27 am

    I’ve never experienced an earthquake. I bet they are scary. That’s so funny that your dogs slept right through it! I guess they are used to them?

  2. January 30, 2009 7:31 am

    Ya, it was kinda freaky. No, I don’t think the dogs are used to them. I think they are just cuddlebugs and like to sleep. Maybe they were scared too. 🙂

  3. January 30, 2009 12:55 pm

    Oh wow…that would freak me out! Everytime I go to california, I wonder if I’ll feel one while Im there.

  4. January 31, 2009 9:41 am

    VV – I lived through a couple in California. One in the 60s, and one in the 80s. Hmm. That’s a 20 year span. I guess they’re due. RUN! Seriously – I shouldn’t make light of it, and I’m not really. It’s a horrible thing and can be devastating. I’ve just been very, very fortunate.

Comments are closed.

