Skip to content

Is it okay to do nothing?

February 1, 2009

IMG_4964 I’ve been so tired lately. I don’t know if the fatigue is my fibromyalgia flaring up, or if I’m just not getting enough sleep. I’ve been nearly falling asleep midday and at strange times, and today, although I had grand plans to do a lot of sewing while watching the Super Bowl, I have done nothing.

I suppose that’s not entirely true that I’ve done nothing.

  • I started some pork loin in the slow cooker – another recipe I made up with what I had on hand.
  • I cleaned out my closet tossing all the clothes that no longer fit and prepped them to be donated to charity.
  • I took photos of some of my really nice Anne Klein jackets that I’m going to try to sell for a few dollars on Craigslist. I still need to actually post them.
  • I did the dishes. LOL.

I had plans to go for a long walk, to finish a project for my brother, to sew a fleece jacket for myself, to do some cleaning. I just don’t have the energy. I have the desire, but I’m really tired. I fell asleep for a bit and really could probably sleep all day. Is that okay?

I feel guilty if I’m not doing something – anything – during the day. I feel like I’m wasting the day away.

Does anyone else do that?

Anyway, I’m giving myself permission to do nothing today. No cleaning, no sewing, no laundry, no work. Nada. We’ll see if I can stick to that.

6 Comments
  1. Mary permalink
    February 1, 2009 4:40 pm

    Listen to your body…sounds like it is telling you it needs to recharge and there is nothing wrong with that. If that feeling persists for days on end then you may have a problem, but sometimes nothing is the perfect thing to do! Nurse Mary 🙂

  2. February 2, 2009 4:45 am

    I agree; listen to your body. You might be getting sick, or maybe just need some rest! No need to feel guilty AT ALL! From Nurse Birdpress. 🙂

  3. February 2, 2009 5:39 am

    Ive been really bad to do nothing lately…just have no energy and no “umph!”

    Usually, a weekend of nothing is the cure for that, but unfortunately, I wont get one of those for three or four more weeks.

  4. February 3, 2009 9:11 am

    i feel hideously guilty if i am not doing at least 3 things at once. however, this morning, i took a nap after getting the boys off to school. desperately needed. sometimes, you’ve just gotta take some time

  5. February 3, 2009 9:30 am

    It occurred to me this morning that perhaps my vitamin D level is getting low again. So I’m back to taking that supplement daily, as well as multi-vitamins. I think that might also be the cause of my muscle aches flaring up again, in addition to the fibro.

    As it turned out, I did nothing all day after posting this post. I even went to bed early and slept nearly 12 hours. Guess I was tired. I sure felt better the next morning. 🙂

  6. February 3, 2009 11:15 pm

    I ask myself the same question and wish I had an answer but it seems like from reading this you do need a break. Every where I look, women close to me are scurrying around with their appointments and busy things to do- I just don’t have all that hustle and bustle in me. I wonder what is wrong? My mom says once you’re a mother, you are always going to be tired- LOL. She tells me to go nap. Ok mom, whatever you say! 😉

Comments are closed.

