Skip to content

Soon to be: Dining in Style

February 4, 2009

I finally found a dining table I liked. Not brand new, but good enough for me. I found this for $80 on Craigslist and it’s only two years old from a nice family with kids. That means that the cloth seats are very well loved and stained. That’s okay because I know how to recover them. Better yet, it affords me a chance to dream more about fabric.

IMG_8410

I love how the wood of the table top mimics the hardwood floor.

IMG_8413

It’s also the center pedestal type that I was looking for.

IMG_8412

Now I get to choose some really pretty fabric, durable, hopefully stain resistant, and mostly child proof to go on those seats. I’m thinking a damask design, something in chocolate brown and cream or black and cream. Maybe something like this?

Osborne Wallpaper Kelso/French Blue

I like the blue in it because I’m not sure if the table will stay here or move to my unfurnished front room. We’ll see. The sliding windows will have some lime green sheers, and the family area windows will have my favorite tropical print (cream background) fabric that I bought in Hawaii a couple years ago. I’m not sure a pattern like above will work with tropical print though.

I might also like something like this Freshcut by Heather Bailey fabric.

Or I’m thinking her Pineapple Brocade from her Pop Garden collection would work really well with what I have already (moss green couch, tropical themes, blue walls).

This is also very cheery:

Any ideas?

Best thing about this? I now have somewhere to sit and eat, I can have small dinner parties, and I can sew up more stuff. Ya, like I needed more projects. LOL.

Ok, time to quit daydreaming and get to work!

5 Comments
  1. February 4, 2009 10:22 am

    That is a great find! I love it. I like the first pattern you have here; I think it works well with the pedestal. Or, would you consider doing each chair in a different fabric, all with a common color scheme or pattern? I like the look of mis-matched chairs or table settings, if you can manage to make it all work together. You seem to have a good eye for stuff like that so I’m sure you could!

  2. February 4, 2009 11:28 am

    Oooh, Birdpress, you may be on to something. I like the mismatched idea. That way, I could use several pretty fabrics all coordinating. Yes, indeeedy. You may be on to something there.

  3. February 4, 2009 11:29 am

    Oh, and the nice thing about upholstered chairs like this, it’s easy to change the seat cushions if I get bored with the fabric!

  4. February 4, 2009 1:37 pm

    i like the first one. i think the darker fabric is a nice contrast to the light wood of the table, ties in with the darker floor. plus, it looks like it would hide more stains than the lighter ones. 🙂

  5. February 5, 2009 12:31 am

    I love the pineapple brocade.

Comments are closed.

