Skip to content

Making Progress on the To-Do List

February 10, 2009

As you may know, I really don’t do resolutions at the beginning of the year, but I do make multiple lists of things I want to accomplish. Some of those lists get lost, rewritten, or just forgotten. Sometimes I actually manage to cross things off the list.

A load – literally – off my back:

One of my major goals this winter/spring is to clear out the garage, house, and yard of any non-essential fluff (oh, sort of like my body? tee hee hee). I am like lots of people and I accumulate crap. Some crap accumulates as a side effect of the gazillion projects I like to start but can never quite get finished. Take my flooring project nearly a year and a half ago. I’m embarrassed to admit it’s been that long since I had this pile of trash in my side yard.

012

Under that tarp was a couch, overstuffed chair, and ottoman. There was also some leftover construction debris and a pile full of old flower buckets and other yard junk. I kept hoping and praying that the TV landscaping gods would come and do a backyard renovation show on my yard, but no such luck. So finally I gave up and hired some junk removal people to come along and do it. These guys were great!

The stuff they had to pick up was nasty. Just plain nasty. But they didn’t make me feel like a complete loser about it. I should have taken a picture of that truck before they took off. Before they started it looked like we would have about 5/8 of a truck full. Um, we filled the truck. Granted, they threw the stuff in there haphazardly, not tightly packed, and we added some stuff I picked up from my daughter’s and an unfinished project I had in my garage, but still…

Now, I’m left with this.IMG_8483 A big mudhole.

But that’s okay. I’d rather look out my window at this, and have the neighbors accidentally see this when the gate is open, than what was there.

Next up: clearing out the garage and closets. We already have a great start with about eight bags of clothing stacked in the front room ready to go to charity. I know we have more. There will also be household goods, books, stuff normally found at a yard sale that I can’t be bothered with.

For you sewing aficionados or fabric junkies: I’m also thinning out my sewing stash and will be posting some of my nicer fabrics here for sale soon and even some freebie stuff, most likely. I have decided to get rid of the stuff I know, deep in my heart, that I will never sew up. My neighbor’s mom is also a quilter and I’ll be letting her pick through my free stuff too. So, stay tuned, I’ll post things here and will be willing to ship some of it if someone is interested. 

I already donated my yarn stash – keeping only about a sixth of the select items – to a friend who has a friend who knits for people in recovery from alcohol or drug addiction, or otherwise in need. Since most of my yarn was given to me, I passed it on.

So, I’m really feeling quite good about my accomplishments and striking things off the to do list. And I really like the idea of passing stuff on. Since I was really just hoarding the stuff, it is helping more people by letting it go.

Weight loss update: I had a good weigh in last night, surprisingly. I was down 1.2 pounds. Considering I didn’t track consistently all week, but tried to make good choices, I didn’t expect to lose. I did get some activity in last week, so I suppose that helped. Next week, if I do the same, I will hit another milestone: 60 pounds. And March 3 is my one-year anniversary with Weight Watchers.

Stay tuned!

7 Comments
  1. Mary permalink
    February 10, 2009 9:50 am

    Good for you on making progress on your goals!!! Mary

    Thanks, Mary.

  2. February 10, 2009 10:03 am

    Doesn’t it feel good to clean up/clean out stuff ? Good going ๐Ÿ™‚

    It does, Claire. It’s true what they say about clutter and stress….

  3. February 10, 2009 10:17 am

    I just cleaned under my computer desk, you wouldn’t believe what kind of horrors were under there. It was hard but I feel better too.

    I can imagine, Illustrator. Under my desk there are only furballs – both live (cats) and accumulated (all shedded fur combined). LOL.

  4. February 10, 2009 10:31 am

    Good job all around! I’m glad you lucked out with the junk guys. I hope you tipped them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Any plans to fill that mud hole? Looks like a great place to start a veggie garden.

    Hi Birdpress… I didn’t tip them. Should I have? As it was, it was nearly $400. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the mud hole. I was thinking a run-through doggie bath? Or possibly a worlds-largest bird bath? Just kidding. I have a landscape designer (certified, degreed, and happens to be a friend of my daughter’s) coming to help me decide how to relandscape. One thing I do know – I need something along that fence line so I don’t see my neighbors and the street. Oh, and everything has to be low maintenance…that’s a requirement.

  5. February 10, 2009 10:59 am

    Right after I post this I’m off to the Salvation Army with yet one more load of junk. The sad thing is I’ve been doing this since this summer!! How on earth do we accumulate so much STUFF!!! I can’t believe you’re up to 60 pounds lost! Don’t you feel so much better? Remember about a year ago when you would get exhausted just walking? And now look at you, you’re running. I bet you never thought that would happen!

    Laura, I have no idea how we accumulate all the stuff. I think it breeds when we are asleep. And thanks about the 60 lbs. I do feel worlds better and yes, I remember getting exhausted just walking. My fibro hasn’t gone away… I was hoping perhaps I could attribute it to the weight, but I know better. It’s still there, sometimes with a vengence, but yes, now I can run. I never imagined that in my wildest dreams. Well, actually, in my dreams was the only place I could run!

  6. February 10, 2009 1:43 pm

    excellent! it *does* feel good to get rid of the stuff you no longer need.

    Thanks, Mermaids!

  7. February 10, 2009 7:19 pm

    its an awesome feeling to watch your to do list shrink.

    as to that mudhole, a few bucks worth of sod and its history!

Comments are closed.

