Skip to content

Red Carpet Review

February 22, 2009

The Girl from the Ghetto told me she was interested in my take on the red carpet fashions from this year’s Oscars, so here you go.

(Photos courtesy of www.oscar.com)

Miley Cirus in Zuhair Murad

Miley CyrusMiley Cyrus

I like the bodice a lot and the designer should have just stopped there. On such a pretty young girl, the rest of it is just too much and too costumey. It looks like a 3D version of the doodling I do when I’m in a boring meeting. Or like she has fantasies of being s fish with scales… mermaid?

Viola Davis (from Benjamin Button) in Reem Akra.

Viola DavisViola Davis

Simple, elegant, beautiful and I love the slight blue hue in the shimmer of this gown.

Melissa George in Dolce & Gabbana

Melissa GeorgeMelissa George

Do you spot a mermaid/fish/seashell trend going on here so far? This dress, to me, is horrible. In the white, it looks like she forgot her dress and walked out in her undergarments.

Mary Hart

Mary Hart

Holy crap. She’s wearing window curtains that were pulled out of my garage goodwill box that had been crumpled for the last six years and made into a Suzy Home-ec-y dress. Good grief. She looks old and fat and I know she’s neither.

Vanessa Hudgens in Marchesa.

Vanessa Hudgens

Again, a “mermaid” dress but whatever that mess is on the bodice looks like a bunch of feathers hot-glued on. Sorry, fail.

Angelina Jolie in Elie Saab, Lorraine Schwartz jewelry, Ferragamo shoes and a Lana Marks bag.

Angelina JolieAngelina Jolie

I totally agree with Girl from the Ghetto here. I love Angelina. I think she may be a bit eccentric, but she is one of the most beautiful women in the world, in my books. If she had swapped the colors around – blue dress (although not *that* blue), black earrings – she would have been even more outstanding.

Alicia Keys

Alicia Keys

Not a flattering cut. The bodice looks too tight, and the cut from the waist down just makes her look hippy (as in wide hips). The silhouette doesn’t even attempt to accentuate an hourglass figure, if that’s what she has.

Heidi Klum in Roland Mouret

Heidi KlumHeidi Klum

I just don’t like this at all. I get that it is supposed to be “architectural” but it’s just strange to me. I don’t think it fits her right, and almost looks like it’s on backwards.

Queen Latifah

Queen LatifahQueen Latifah

This is all wrong, in my opinion, for a plus size woman. The excess netting around the hips, to me, creates more volume and emphasis exactly where you don’t want it. And shiny fabric is wrong too. But that’s me.

Nancy O’Dell in Pamela Rolland

Nancy O'Dell

Nice.  Classic Grecian look. But the white looks a bit bridal. Color would have been nice.

Sarah Jessica Parker

Sarah Jessica ParkerSarah Jessica Parker

How could Garnier let her out with her hair looking like that? Ugh. The dress again looks bridal. The shape is pretty, and would again be nicer in a color. But I had to do a double take on the photo on the right. Does that look like she has some major push up going on there? One wrong move and she’s likely to be um, over exposed.

Frieda Pinto in John Galliano

Dev Patel and Frieda PintoFrieda Pinto

Frieda PintoFrieda Pinto

Kate Winslet in Atelier Yves Saint Laurent by Stefano Pilati

Kate WinsletKate Winslet

Love the steel color, love the fabric, but something about the bodice and asymmetrical shoulder just doesn’t work for me. She’s gorgeous though.

Evan Rachel Wood in Elie Saab

Evan Rachel Wood

Beautiful gown, but I don’t think matching gowns to skin tone works for anyone.

There you have it. Those are my pics and comments. What do you think? Who was your favorite? Worst hot mess? (You’ll notice I left off all the men, particularly Mickey Rourke. That’s an obvious hot mess. LOL)

 

 

Beautiful. Probably my favorite of the evening. Love the color, love the fabric, love the style.

8 Comments
  1. February 22, 2009 9:06 pm

    Angeline Jolie is a 10++

    Well – wrong earrings! She should have shopped at blingqueenfashionz;)

    Nice post

    Bling Queen

  2. February 23, 2009 4:47 am

    LOL nice commentary. SJP is about to explode out of that dress. Holy cow!

    yeah that is a mermaid montage if I’ve ever seen one. I may have to do my own commentary on this bunch after work…but I think you and GFTG have just about covered it..probably not much I can add..unless I have a really shitty day and then I’m sure I can find a LOT. Good job!

  3. February 23, 2009 5:51 am

    Vanessa…looks like two birds died trying to eat her bosom.
    I disagree with you on Queen Latifah…but maybe just because Ive got a lotta love for her fashion sense overall. She always seems very comfortable in her own skin to me, and (when she tries) has a very rare glamour about her.

  4. February 23, 2009 6:36 am

    as much as i love mermaids, i am not a fan of the mermaid dress. 🙂 several people were close, but most missed the mark. as for the older actresses, nothing wrong with getting older, but there comes an age when you need to wear a dress that allows you to wear proper undergarments. the “girls” should not be drooping down to your waist.

    there were way to many “bride-y” looking dresses.

  5. April permalink
    February 23, 2009 10:46 am

    Good job, Claire.

    Although, I have to say, I do like Miley Cyrus’ dress. I guess I am the only person though.

  6. February 23, 2009 12:03 pm

    I have to say I agreed with you on every single one. I like SJP better as a blond. I really do not like her hair now. I like plain classic looks especially Viola and Angelina’s dresses. You can take all that flared out stuff at the bottom of those dresses and chuck in the ocean. Good job!!

  7. February 23, 2009 5:06 pm

    And after all the awards of last night – there’s one for you on my blog 🙂

  8. February 23, 2009 8:19 pm

    I cut out Viola during my editing … I did like her dress as well. And I cut Melissa George because I am so happy she is off Grey’s I didn’t want to give he ran once of publicity … lol! REW is tainted from Marilyn Manson. She is a great actress, beautiful girl, but plays up that pale too much. Her and Nicole Kidman are allowed to wear color. I give them both my full permission. Drives me crazy.

Comments are closed.

