Skip to content

Getting Real – and Real Honest

February 24, 2009

Monday nights are my regular Weight Watcher’s meeting and weigh-in. I have been doing really well for the last six weeks or so. Each week I’m showing a 1 or 1.2 pound loss. That’s adding up pretty quickly and I’ve lost 61.8 pounds so far and have only 27.2 pounds left to go to hit my first goal. (I call it a “first goal” because my leader suggested picking the top number of the healthy weight guidelines and see how my body likes that number. It may be that I still lose another ten pounds past that, but we’ll see.)

Last night’s topic was about tracking and hence the point of my post. I have been “kinda” tracking. And, like my leader says, that can “kinda” lead to a weight gain. I’ve been on a slippery slope and resting on my great progress.

image To be honest, I’m tired of tracking every little thing I eat, but I have to also remember that tracking is what got me here. My way didn’t work. Weight Watchers does. I guess I want to learn what will happen if I just guess-timate my points, only paying attention to portion size and such.

I just have this nagging feeling that my laziness the last three weeks is going to catch up with me and kick my a$$. And I feel guilty. Almost as if that weight loss at the scale is false.

I do NOT want to gain any of this weight back for several reasons. It has been a lot of work to get here – a lot of discipline, dedication, and persistence. I don’t want to have to do it over again. I also LOVE how I feel these days in smaller clothes, particularly my pants. I feel younger, sexier, prettier, healthier, happier, more energetic, and most of all, more optimistic and hopeful about my future.

For those main reasons, I’m going on record here that this week I’m getting back on the horse and tracking everything I eat. Everything. Even the 1/4 tablespoon of light butter on my morning toast.

I won’t be making the points amount of what I eat fit my allowance – after I’ve eaten it – rather than the other way around. Anyone else ever do that? “Hmmm, I have only 4 points left, so that sandwich must have only been 4 points.” LOL.

Anyway, I just wanted to come clean with the tracking. Thanks for listening, and thanks also for your encouragement and support.

7 Comments
  1. run4change permalink
    February 24, 2009 1:25 pm

    I had to laugh at the butter thing. I get that really good. I have my things like it. Good post and you’ll do great with the tracking. Keep on keeping on

  2. run4change permalink
    February 24, 2009 1:27 pm

    Also, do you like the sitemeter?

  3. February 24, 2009 1:50 pm

    What do they say? “If you bite it, write it” LOL. I’m doing good today. One day at a time.

    I never really look at site meter. It says it doesn’t check my own visits, but it does. The stats also don’t match the WordPress stats. I guess I’ve given up on caring about stats. If I was trying to be the best blogger in the world, maybe I’d care. LOL.

  4. February 25, 2009 7:15 am

    I can’t believe you still have 30 pounds to go, you don’t look like you need to lose any more weight. I’m really trying to buckle down and lose the 5 plus pounds I’ve put on in the past year. That might not sound like much but I’m only five feet tall and it’s a good clothing size over where I need to be. I fool myself by saying “Oh I ran my 4 miles tonight so I don’t have to watch what I eat.” Oh yes I do! I’ve managed to keep my weight down for about 12 years now and I too don’t want it to get away from me! Keep up the good work, reading what you’re going through is helping me get back on track.

    Laura – I do have that much to go. I just won’t post my actual weight on the internet. But even if it wasn’t 30 pounds, there is still some excess fluff that needs to disappear. I’m glad my experiences are helping you too.

  5. LauraM62 permalink
    February 25, 2009 6:24 pm

    Do write it – keep track of it or it all catches up in the worst way! A couple of years ago I lost 40 lbs, hit goal, thought I can do this without tracking (after a while) … now I’m up 55 lbs from my goal. I tell people that I did quit smoking during that 55 lb gain (after 30 years!) but I know if I had kept tracking this wouldn’t be on me. I feel worse now that I have to start all over. And I was one that really thought I had this down, I would NEVER put that back on, etc … so always track!!

  6. February 25, 2009 6:30 pm

    LauraM62 – Thank you for visiting my blog! It’s stories like yours that keep me motivated to track. I have really worked so hard to get here – as I’m sure you know – and I’m inherently lazy, so I just don’t want to do it all again. Plus, I have so many people who have been so encouraging and supportive and behind me all the way, I really don’t want to disappoint them, or myself.

    Hope you keep visiting and commenting! I hope I can keep posting things that interest you and others.

  7. February 26, 2009 6:27 pm

    This was a good post, and I really like the way you’re so honest about the whole process. It’s your honesty that people can relate to. You’ll be able to get back on track, I seriously know you will.

    And your new layout is great! Very clean, very nice.

Comments are closed.

