Skip to content

One Chair At A Time

February 24, 2009

I’m not sure if I already mentioned that I got a new-to-me dining table? I waited and waited until I found the one I really wanted and then got it.

IMG_8410 

It wasn’t exactly the Pier 1 Imports table I wanted, but very darn close. I got a great deal on it because it was used and the cloth seats were stained from kid use. That’s okay because I’m becoming an expert at recovering seats. However, I couldn’t find my vintage power staple gun, so I had to buy a new one. That’s actually a good thing because I found one for $30 that shoots both staples and small nails.

So, in keeping with my goal of not buying anything new and using what I already have, I didn’t buy new fabric for the chair cushions, like I was dreaming about earlier. During my fabric purging spree, I found some home dec fabric that my friend, April, will surely recognize. (I grabbed it from her fabric purging spree some years ago.)

These seats are not the easiest to recover. The back of the chair comes off, but the seat does not fully remove from the legs, leaving the front two legs on, so I was forced to cover over the existing fabric and piping. That made going around the corners a tad difficult.

Before:

IMG_8583

IMG_8584

And after:

IMG_8585 IMG_8586

I really like this fabric because it picks up the color of the chairs perfectly, which really do have a yellow tint in the cream color, and it also brings in the same green from my sofa and the blue of my walls throughout the home. It really will be nice.

However, because of the awkwardness of getting around the legs, I only got one chair done. So, it’s one chair at a time. It really will look nice when it’s all done. I’ll post more pictures then.

4 Comments
  1. February 24, 2009 11:52 am

    the fabric looks perfect for those chairs. one chair at a time… sounds like a great plan.

  2. Bev permalink
    February 24, 2009 1:12 pm

    Beautiful! Love the fabric and yes, indeedy, it’s a perfect match to the chairs.

  3. February 28, 2009 9:35 am

    love those! My own dining room chairs have a similar seat-attachment “problem”…I had assumed the seat would come off easily for recovering, but like yours, it wasnt that simple.

  4. March 1, 2009 11:32 pm

    So, what??? You actually could have done all four at a time? LOL! We need to hire you out, girl!
    I’m so jealous! Love the table and the chairs, and the new chairs,especially. I could never do that!
    When I’m down a kid or two, maybe I’ll find a table like that.
    Too, freaking cool!!!

Comments are closed.

