Skip to content

Changes Abound

February 26, 2009

It’s been nearly a year since I started this weight loss journey so I felt it was time for a visit with the doctor. Thankfully, the scale at the doctor’s office matched the scale at Weight Watchers – I’m not sure why that’s comforting, but it is – and oddly, Weight Watchers and my doctor’s office are only a few doors away from each other. I checked in and did all the disrobing requirements and waited for my doctor to enter.

She comes in and does a double-take. She said hello, stopped, looked at her chart, looked at me, looked at her chart again, and then turned to me with this perplexed look on her face and asked, “Have we met before?”

My doctor didn’t even recognize me!

How cool is that? I explained to her all about my journey with Weight Watchers. She said that any time one of her patients loses weight on their own, she asks them how and they answer one of three ways: Weight Watchers, surgery, or a combination of exercise and diet on their own. I really enjoyed talking to her about everything I’ve been doing to improve my health.

So we took blood to check my cholesterol and the changes she said were “dramatic”. I went from a total cholesterol level of 215 to a current 187. In addition, she told me that the triglycerides – the important ones – were also dramatically reduced which significantly reduces my chances of adult diabetes. WOWZA! The other tests we took were thyroid – since I’ve had a thyroid issue in the past – and that was up, but only to the point that we’ll just check it every year. I don’t need medication. The final test I’m waiting for is my vitamin D, but I expect that to be just fine.

~~~~~~

I’m bicycle shopping now. My goal is to have a new bicycle by the end of March because my mother and I are going to Seaside, Oregon again, and some friends of ours will be down there. One of my friends, who goes to Weight Watchers with me, is bringing her bicycle and we’ll go riding together.

052

(Not this kind of bike, although doesn’t that look fun?)

I was going to get an Electra bike, because I like the retro look of them, but in my thorough research and examining what I want to do with the bike, I really need something a tad more sophisticated. Sophisticated in that it is lighter weight, has more gears for getting up and down hills around here, and handle brakes. I’m leaning now toward a Specialized comfort bike for women.

women's Globe Carmel 3 26

Yes, I know, it’s not PINK, but I’ll just have to deal. This color is a rosy color, so it’s nodding toward pink. This is a Women’s Carmel 3 26″. You can add fenders to it – probably a requirement here in the Pacific Northwest where it rains a lot.

I want something that will be fun and that I’ll want to use a lot, not something that will be unpleasant and hard to ride. The latter will cause me to waste money and just put it in the garage and forget about it.

The change here? I’m really envisioning myself riding around a lot on this bike. And I can even add a basket for Lily to ride in. She loves the pink doggles. (Really, she does!)

IMG_5803

~~~~~~~~~~~

Finally, what do you think of my new blog look? I used to be jealous of the Blogger backgrounds until I learned how to hack a WordPress template using the CSS (cascading style sheet) upgrade and add my own free Blogger background to it. And this new WordPress template – Vigilance – is awesome. Highly customizable and has that cool alert box up at the top. LOVE it. Only thing missing is a button for RSS or email subscribing to my blog. I’ll get that added soon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now I’m off to relax for the evening, have some stir-fry veggies with chicken strips over brown rice, followed by a Weight Watchers Giant Fudge Bar.

9 Comments
  1. run4change permalink
    February 26, 2009 7:55 pm

    I just love this post my friend. It so makes my evening. That must have been the best feeling you had when the Doc. didn’t know ya. Man that is cool. All that hard work and fighting paid off big time right at that moment didn’t it. You forgot all about the trials and were bathing in the glory. Good for you. Great lab work too. My cholesterol went from 305 or so to 151. Crazy huh? THis weight loss stuff really does work. HAHAHA

    Oh heah!!! I loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove the gian fudge bars.. Oooolala. Love them. Enjoy

  2. February 26, 2009 8:27 pm

    Way to go, girl!!!! I just ate a weight watchers chocolate covered giant ice cream bar. Yummy!! I love your new look here. Very pretty. I can’t wait to hear all about your new bike. Oh, Lily looks so sweet and posh in her sunglasses.

  3. Bev permalink
    February 27, 2009 5:57 am

    Congrats on the lowering of the cholesterol, etc. You really are billboard material for Weight Watchers!

    And, um, well, uhh…….can I say I really don’t much like your new blog look? Your old was so personal and bright and now this one looks like everybody else’s. But hey! That’s just me and I’m an old fuddy duddy so who cares what I think – and besides, I’ll get used to it by tomorrow! 🙂

  4. February 27, 2009 7:00 am

    Jason – Thank you! You are right, this weight loss stuff really does work and it’s so gratifying. It really is. Thank you for your encouragement along the way!

    Joan – The Weight Watchers ice cream is sooo nummy. Watch out for Girl Scout Cookies though. I’ll do a blog post on them in a moment.

    Bev – You are totally encouraged to tell me what you really think. It’s kind of like rearranging my living room. I like to do that from time to time. What I like about this layout is that I can switch it up at will. I can change the font colors and the background and eventually I’ll figure out how to create my own background instead of stealing someone’s free one. 🙂

  5. Mary permalink
    February 27, 2009 8:18 am

    That’s a great health report! Weight Watchers pays off in so much more than weight loss. Love the picture of Lily in her doggles! Jo has a pair that he wears primarily when we’re in the boat because his eyes get so dry when we are fishing. He’s not too wild about them but tolerates them like a good dog!

  6. Bev permalink
    February 27, 2009 9:08 am

    Oh your blog is WAY COOL now! LOVE those flowers on the side and the colors. NOW you’re cookin’, baby! 🙂

    I’m still trying to figure out how you post comments, tho……I had to come in the back door by clicking on someone else’s comments. What am I not seeing?

  7. February 27, 2009 9:15 am

    Mary – you are so right about the payoff. Lily will be the star of the show in those doggles when we go bike riding.

    Bev – I think next to where it says how many comments, it also says “leave one” in pink. Click that and see if that works. Otherwise, if you click the heading of the post, it opens only that post. Scroll to the bottom and there should be a place to leave a reply.

  8. February 27, 2009 3:17 pm

    I am loving the look of your blog! 😀

    WAY TO GO on the health stuff! It’s so crazy that your doctor didn’t recognize you, LOL. That is really an accomplishment with getting your cholesterol down so much.

    That is a cute bike but it doesn’t look like it would be too useful for more than very flat areas where you didn’t plan on going very fast! I have a great bike that I don’t use nearly enough. I used to live on a dirt road (when I first got it) where it was more fun to ride; now I’m in a little neighborhood where everyone can see me and it makes me less inclined to get out there.

  9. February 27, 2009 3:48 pm

    Thanks, Birdpress – actually, that bike is supposed to be good for hills too because it’s lightweight (aluminum) and has a gazillion speeeds – easier for going up hills. The hand brakes give more control for going down hills and going fast.

    I’m in a little neighborhood too, but I’m planning to just put it in my car and drive to the local bike paths that are so scenic around here. Who knows? Maybe Prince Charming rides a bike too. LOL

Comments are closed.

