Skip to content

Girl Scout Cookie Love

February 27, 2009

Ah, it’s that time of year again. And I’m doing my part to support the Girls Scouts of America and my neighbor’s daughter. My daughters were Girl Scouts for a while so I feel it’s my duty to pass it on and help out the next generation of cookie peddlers.

IMG_8597

However, being the zealot for Weight Watchers that I am, I have calculated the POINTS value of one serving so I could decide if it was worth it to eat some of these.

  • One serving = 4 cookies.
  • POINTS value for one serving = 4, therefore, each cookie is 1 point.

Yeah, I won’t be eating these. And frankly, knowing the POINTS value has helped curb the temptation for me. I’m giving a box to my grandchildren to scarf down eat, and taking a box to a pot luck I’m attending tonight. (Although one of the people there is on WW so I’ll be kind enough to let her know the POINTS value so that I’m not sabotaging her success.)

My alternative snack today?

Well, it’s not chocolatey-minty cookies but it’s more filling and one of my favorite snacks.

IMG_8602

(Sorry the photo is blurry and focused on the background. I’d retake it, but I already ate it!)

I took one small banana, sliced it in a bowl, and topped it with one Weight Watchers Berries & Cream yogurt and voila! A filling snack and it takes way longer to eat.

  • Small banana = 1.5 points
  • WW yogurt = 1 point
  • Total snack = 2.5 points.

Considering I only get 22 points per day, this is a better option for me.

Hope everyone is having a great Friday! I’m looking forward to a great weekend! Finishing sewing doggie beds is high up on the list, as is a long walk with a friend.

3 Comments
  1. February 27, 2009 11:12 pm

    I might have to give up supper one might and eat 8 mint cookies. On second thought maybe not. I can eat a bunch of broccoli, a salad, some weight watchers ice cream and some veggie soup for 2 points. I just have to remember that when faced with those damn cookies. Hopefully I won’t come across a girl scout.

  2. February 28, 2009 9:37 am

    can I have yours?? I am absolutely thankful that they dont sell the things year round (though, from a business standpoint, I think they could make a lot more if they did). I can not eat just one. No joke, I will finish a whole box in one setting.

  3. LauraM62 permalink
    March 2, 2009 11:39 am

    Looks like a great alternative snack, although I’m sure it was hard! I always like a mix of strawberries & kiwi with some no sugar pudding. Some of the Jello pudding was like 1 point, over the fruit made a good sweet tasting snack!

Comments are closed.

