Skip to content

A Little Q&A

March 2, 2009

My friend Joan of Whatever I think was interviewed on her blog and asked us if we wanted to be interviewed, and I decided to play. How fun! She asks the questions (sent to me in e-mail), and I answer then in a post. I love these questions – I can tell Joan took a lot of time over these so I hope to do them justice with my answers. (At the end, if any of my readers wants me to interview them, just leave a comment and I’ll send you five questions. You then answer them on your blog and link back to me.)

So, let’s get started.

1. You have good fashion sense and love to sew.  What fashion designer would you like to meet and why?

Thank you, Joan, for that compliment! I would love to meet any fashion designer, really. I love so many of them. Michael Kors, Diane Von Furstenberg, Elie Saab – those are some whose designs I love.

But when asked who I’d like to meet, Korto Momolu – recent Project Runway finalist – came to mind. I love her attitude. Her designs in her final collection were fabulous to me, and she won my heart when she brought her daughter up on the runway with her.

I copied a quote she made several months ago and it really resonated with me:

“I feel that if you’re comfortable in your skin you can wear neon pink and still look fabulous and hot. It’s not really what you wear; it’s how you wear it.”

Korto Momolu
http://www.projectrungay.com

To me, she exudes confidence and self-assurance and is an excellent example of following your bliss and being true to yourself – principles I aspire to follow myself.

She also makes jewelry and I’d commission her to make some really funky jewelry for my mom.

2.  You have done so well at weight watchers and improving your health.  Was there a special moment when you realized you wanted to make some healthy changes in your life?

Well, not one particular moment, really. There was a defining picture, but it was more of an accumulation of events: becoming a grandma, being diagnosed with fibromyalgia, feeling the fat from my middle on the insides of my arms when I was seated, seeing pictures of me that were increasingly unflattering and not representative of how I envision myself, not being able to walk a couple city blocks without getting out of breath. These things made me realize I had to do something. I am determined to be “Fifty, Fit, and Fabulous” (in a year or so) not “Fifty, Fat, and Frumpy”

011

This was the defining picture. Next to my mother who is 88 and fabulous – I mean, seriously – look at her jacket! – I was definitely verging on frumpy, far too young. It’s funny how people will tell you, ya, you look great, but no one but your mother will tell you you are getting fat, and when she did, I didn’t want to listen.

3.  We know you are a loving grandmother.  What is your favorite game that you play with your grandchildren?

IMG_6915 Lately our games are fun physical games – and added activity for me. I put them on my back and run up and down their long hallway. (Can’t do this too much longer – they’re all too big!)  I play hide and seek with Cayden a lot. He likes to run from me and have me chase him, or he chases me and I pop out from behind the wall and “catch” him. Elise is getting too big for such games, and I don’t get to see her as much, so our time together is usually quieter – coloring or reading. Oh, they both like it when they sit on my foot and I “walk” with them (or drag them) as added weight. Kinda hard on my back, so I don’t do that often. Oh, and they like to do this flip thing. I hold their hands while they are facing me, they climb up my legs like climbing up a wall with their feet and flip backwards as they push off my upper thighs. Kinda hard to explain, but they love it. Elise is almost too tall for that game anymore. Evan’s getting bigger and he also likes to be carried as I run up and down the hallway. He likes the bouncing and fastness of it.

(I love that picture – I just wish Cayden was in it too.)

4.  If you had to choose between your sewing machine and your computer which would you choose?

IMG_7834 I’d have to choose my computer only because it’s what I use to make my living (writer and editor). I haven’t been sewing much lately because my focus has been on getting healthy and being active. I love my sewing machine but I wouldn’t mind if it disappeared because then I could replace it with a fancy schmancy new one. Ha! In my dreams…

 

5.  What is your ideal thing to do if you are out on a date with a new man?

Wow, this is a good one. I think dinner in a quiet location where we can talk, make lots of good eye contact, and not be oogled at by everyone else because we’re the best looking, most romantic couple in the room. (Just kidding about that last part…) Then perhaps a walk along a beach and sit down to watch the sunset. To me, that would be ideal. Unless I wasn’t so into him then ideal would be to just go home. LOL.

Hawaii 320

(Maui, Hawaii, November 2006)

Thanks, Joan, for the questions. I hope I did a good job answering them. If you want to be “interviewed” by me, just say “interview me” in the comments, and I’ll send you five questions by email.

10 Comments
  1. March 2, 2009 8:12 am

    You did a fabulous job with the questions. I truly think you are already fabulous, fit and fifty. It sure sounds like the grandkids help to keep you fit. I’ve been lax with the weight watchers and you have inspired me yet again to keep going because I want to be sexy, superb and sixty. (I had a tough time finding S words)

  2. March 2, 2009 8:33 am

    Thanks, Joan… although I still have a ways to go before hitting the fifty part. Don’t want to bring that one on sooner than necessary, you know? ๐Ÿ˜‰ You did great with the S words. Love them! I’m glad I’ve inspired you to keep up with the WW – you don’t want to have to redo all your hard work, I’m sure. And with that granddaughter on the way, and your new knees, you’ll be able to play hide and seek with her too!

  3. March 2, 2009 1:37 pm

    ok, i’ll play along. send me some questions, hopefully ones that i can answer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. March 2, 2009 1:42 pm

    Yay, Teri – I’ll send some to you later tonight. I have some in mind already – just need to formulate them better. (After Weight Watchers and while watching the finale of The Bachelor (from Seattle), mmmkay?)

  5. March 2, 2009 6:04 pm

    Hey, yeah! Interview me! And, did you have to pay for the upgrades on this blog design? I love the background. Way cool! And, no, I can’t sew…”sew” don’t ask me about sewing! LOL!

  6. March 2, 2009 7:46 pm

    Okay, Cat, will do. I’ll have to give yours a bit of thought! Stay tuned. Oh, and yes, you have to have the CSS Upgrade option, then code the stylesheet to make it look this way. I’m helping Cindy with hers too.

  7. March 3, 2009 5:56 am

    This interview thing is fun! Your mother reminds me of my friend’s mother. In her 80’s; she’s always stylish and very striking which makes us laugh because my friend’s usual attire consists of flannel shirts and jeans. I remember years ago when I had my first child I had this fear of becoming one of those women who goes around wearing sweats and getting a sensible haircut because ‘it’s easier’. And now that I’m pushing 50 (I turned 49 yesterday) I share in your fear of becoming frumpy at 50!!! And I’m going to hang on to the notion that 50 is the new 40.

    • March 3, 2009 8:59 am

      First, Laura – HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Seems many of my friends, bloggy and local, are turning 49. I’ll be 49 in May.

      And I’d take it a step further – 50 is the new 30!! Or perhaps 35. Hee hee.

  8. March 8, 2009 6:59 am

    Inspiring interview by a lovely woman, Joan! You’ve come so far Little Miss. My gosh- you were always beautufil- including the pic w/ your mom but I know we have to do these things for being more healthy and setting good examples for our kids. I’m not sure how you did it- and are still going strong, but I applaud both you and Joan- congrats to you both!!! Keep up the excellent work!

Trackbacks

  1. Queries « mermaids

Comments are closed.

