Skip to content

Dreams Do Come True

March 8, 2009

Today I put a down payment on my new bicycle.

No, it’s not pink, but it’s actually probably better than a pink bike. It’s a neutral cream – identical to the picture below – which means I can *accessorize* with color to my heart’s desire. It’s not the original bike I had fallen in love with, but better. The first one I saw, an Electra Betty, was only 3 speeds and had pedal brakes. Not a good idea for me.

I’m nothing, if not a thorough shopper.

I shopped around – first online a lot – studying information about bikes and then I started going to stores and testing them out. I even looked at second hand bikes, hoping for a deal.

Shopping for a bike is like trying on shoes. What fits one person doesn’t necessarily fit another. One person might be shopping for Keds and the other is looking for the top-of-the-line Brooks running shoes. One person might be a size 6, narrow width, and the other is a size 8, wide width. Every person is different. I fell somewhere in the middle. I was looking for something that would change up my activities – something more than just walking the same few routes all the time. It had to be comfortable for my back and easy to ride, as well as easy to load into my car to take on trips.

And it had to have fenders too.

This is what I chose. A Giant Cypress. Sounds like a tree, doesn’t it?

imageIt rides so easily. (Yes, I took it for a test ride.) It has so many features that will be great for my back and not make it painful or unpleasant to ride. Larger wheels make it more comfortable going over bumps. Added seat suspension and front fork suspension. (I think that’s how it’s described.) Great brakes, internal gears, and 7 speeds. Going up a hill today was fairly easy. It will be even easier as I get conditioned. The handlebars have extra ways to make them adjustable and fit me perfectly.

I can’t wait to pick it up later this week!

Now to shop for accessories. Oh the fun I’m going to have with that!

6 Comments
  1. March 9, 2009 4:09 am

    Hans and I love to go bike riding. There are an amazing amount of bike trails in his city and we take advantage of them as much as we can. You’re really going to enjoy yourself.

  2. March 9, 2009 4:37 am

    i bet you could find some Hello Kitty accessories to trick out that adorable bike. 🙂

  3. Mary permalink
    March 9, 2009 6:26 am

    You are going to love that seat suspension! We bought our bikes last year from my bosses son who has a local hike, bike and board shop. He picked out a rugged mountain bike for my husband and then steered me towards the “Grandma” bikes. I quipped “Does this have a back up beeper on it too?” Have fun with your new bike!

  4. March 9, 2009 4:43 pm

    I bet you are going to have a lot of fun on that bike! You won’t even know you are exercising!

  5. March 10, 2009 7:33 am

    How cute!! Funny…I was reading this from my ipod last night while on a stationary bike at my gym. LOL!

  6. March 10, 2009 8:08 am

    Thanks everyone. I am so excited to get this.

    Laura…I’m hoping someday to meet someone who will love to bike ride too.

    Mermaids… Did you know they make a Hello Kitty bicycle? LOL.

    Mary… “Grandma” bike, indeed. I just think it’s fun. Even though I definitely *am* a grandma, I refuse to act like one. LOL.

    Birdpress… that’s the whole idea – to have fun and not even know I’m exercising.

    VV…how funny you read my blog from your iPod at the gym. Awesome. And the irony of the stationary bike wasn’t lost on me either.

Comments are closed.

