Skip to content

Crazy Weather

March 15, 2009

This is looking out my dining room window at about 9 am this morning.

IMG_8702

Those big white blobs are snowflakes about two inches in diameter, at least. Weird. It covered the ground yet it was very slushy on the roads. That didn’t keep me home. Neither did yesterday’s rain – I still went for my five mile walk with friends.

I still don’t have my bicycle. I had hoped to have it by now, but, granted, wouldn’t be riding in the snow or slush. I’m waiting on the shop to get the replacement chain guard, which apparently I’m told shipped from California a week ago but hasn’t arrived here yet. I’m a little perturbed with their customer service because three times now they were supposed to call me and have not. I’ve had to call them. I’ll be talking to the shop owner tomorrow about this and the ETA of my bicycle. Meanwhile, I did a bit more comparison shopping of bikes today and I’m still happy with the one I’m getting, even though I could find a different one for about $100 less, but not as pretty and not as good a fit for me.

This afternoon, I went up to my daughter’s and enjoyed the family. Cody was home so it was great to visit with him too. I rarely get a chance to enjoy a conversation with him so that was a treat. He’s such a good daddy. He went out and picked up Subway for all of us and we all sat down together and had a nice lunch. By the time I left, the sun was out and it was really windy. – no trace of snow. When I got home, it was hailing sideways and now the winds are high and I’m hoping we don’t lose power.

I have a busy week coming up with a work deadline tomorrow, onsite all day Tuesday and who knows what the rest of the week will be like. I like being busy, but I am getting tired and it’s impacting my drive to do any sewing at all on the weekends. I had intended to at least sew up some curtain panels today, but I relaxed instead. Sigh.

Tomorrow is Weight Watchers weigh-in as well. Last week was a good week, despite eating out several times while my brother was here. I hope I did as well this week. We’ll see. I’ll keep you posted.

4 Comments
  1. ninh permalink
    March 15, 2009 7:47 pm

    you are beutiful

  2. March 16, 2009 7:50 am

    definitely ready for some spring weather. btw, people who do not return phone calls drive me nuts!

  3. March 16, 2009 11:52 am

    When we got (very rare) snow here the other week, it was giant flakes like that! Never seen anything like ’em, but they were beautiful.

  4. March 16, 2009 4:49 pm

    So there you are on the west coast with snow, and here we are on the east coast with balmy weather. I went for my run today in a long sleeved t-shirt as opposed to a heavy sweat shirt with a turtle neck underneath! And I thought of you yesterday when I had to make an emergency stop at Panera Bread. Hans has a membership at LA Fitness and I was his ‘guest’. Well after a half hour on an excercise bike and waaaay past breakfast I knew I was in trouble. I need to eat small amounts several times a day and I was in need of a quick fix. So, I ditched Hans and ran to Panera. Remembering how you made your dinner selection the other night, I decided on a cup of chicken soup, half of a grilled veggie sandwich, and an apple. I felt very virtuous let me tell you!! And it really was very good! You know, the more careful you are, the better food seems to taste.

Comments are closed.

