Skip to content

Beginning A New Artsy Photography Project

March 19, 2009

I’ve been working too hard lately – twelve hour days and all that. It’s finally caught up with me and I’m exhausted. I have no energy to do much of anything, and certainly no energy to tackle the sewing room, move things around and even stitch one straight seam.

I’ve had this project, though, that is kinda crafty that I’ve been wanting to do for some time, and I can do it in stages as I have time, so I got started on this recently.

I got these two picture frames free off freecycle or some place like that and thought the frames were perfect, but the pictures were gross – too 80s and pale for my taste.

IMG_8709

The color of the frames are perfect for my decor: steel blue. The frames are the expensive kind with metal fasteners that you see at professional frame stores. I figured it couldn’t be too hard to replace the insides with something else.

So, for about $10, I got these supplies.

IMG_8711

My original idea was to use the wrapping paper and ribbon to do a sort of patchwork design, but then I thought further and started printing out some terrific black and white photos of my grandkids to add to the layout. I think I’m also going to add some fun typography to the layout and make it really fun, but hopefully not too busy. It’s a work-in-progress.

This one in particular is going to be used that I took of Evan on Sunday. He is so stinking cute. He put that hat on himself and turned and grinned at me. I had to Photoshop out the runny nose though. (There I go using a noun as a verb. Bad writer, me. LOL)

IMG_6142_Photoshopped

Then I ran out of photo paper, so off to Costco I must go. Later.

Stay tuned. I think this will turn out great when it’s all done. I’ll try to take good pictures (read: not blurry) so you can see my process.

Is it Spring yet?

One Comment
  1. Mary permalink
    March 19, 2009 11:08 am

    What a fun project! That is such a great idea and your grandson is adoraable! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

Comments are closed.

