Skip to content

Knowing vs. Not Knowing

March 20, 2009

If given a choice about something, would you rather know or not know?

I guess that’s a broad, and vague question. Here’s the deal. Sometimes I think I can guess how many points a food is and sometimes I’m right, but when I actually calculate it out according to my plan, then I know right where I stand. I compare it to balancing my checkbook. I need to see exactly how much I’ve spent so that I know exactly if I need to be saving, or if I can afford to spend more. (Because I do like to shop!)

Last night we went to dinner to celebrate my mother’s 89th birthday, which is actually on the 30th of this month. We always go to the Keg restaurant. The atmosphere is probably what makes it a nice choice, but the food is far from healthy for you, at least in my opinion.

Anyway, I am so glad that Weight Watchers gives you weekly points on top of your daily points or I would have been messed up for the week. I figured I’d be healthy and have soup and salad (also cheaper) and ordered their French Onion soup and house salad with Dijon vinaigrette dressing. I also shared a crème brulee (not healthy) with my mom for dessert and ate 1/3 of that.

When I got home I wanted to calculate the points on it, so I looked up the nutritional information on their web site. In hindsight, I always recommend doing this before you go out, if possible, not afterward.

Here’s the breakdown:

  • Keg French Onion Soup (as served) – 16 points
  • Keg House Salad with Dijon vinaigrette dressing – 3 points
  • 1/3 Keg Creme Brulee – 6 points
  • Total points for dinner: 25

Daily points used for the day – a whopping 36.5! Considering I get only 22 a day, that’s a lot.

What’s interesting to note is that this was a light dinner or so I thought. Imagine what it would have been had I eaten what I used to eat – something like a steak, garlic mashed potatoes, and veggies slathered in butter. Ugh.

Anyway, now I know. I still have 20 weekly points remaining, which I will not use. I know that I need to step up my activity level for the rest of my week because I want to knock back off that 2.4 pound gain from last week. I’ve been drinking more water and getting more sleep, and that should help. Saturday I go for a five mile walk with friends, and this weekend I’ll be picking up my bicycle and putting it to use! (Stay tuned for pics of that.)

I know what my points deficit is, and how to manage my points spending for the rest of the week so that I keep on the overall downward path of weight loss toward my goal. Yes, I’d rather know than not know.

What about you?

One Comment
  1. March 21, 2009 10:47 am

    Who would have thought French Onion Soup would be so bad! I know it has cheese and croutons but for the most part it’s just broth and onions. Oh well. And how can your mother be 89??!! Incredible, and let’s hope you’ve inherited her youthful genes.

Comments are closed.

