Skip to content

Going solo

March 22, 2009

I woke up this morning and it was still sunny out but before I could enjoy my coffee and get ready, the clouds had rolled in and it started raining. Not hard rain, but still wet. Finally around 3:00 p.m. there was a gap in the rain, and I loaded up my bike and took off for my first ride.

IMG_8748

I went to Woodinville and started there and headed toward Redmond along the Sammamish River trail. I found a website that calculates the distance and I did about 6.5 miles round trip. Not too shabby for my first ride – and solo. That particular trail has some very gentle hills that I never noticed when I was walking, but sure noticed riding. My sit bones are sore from the seat and no padded bike pants, but I’ll eventually figure everything out. And who knew that a very gentle breeze would feel like a strong headwind? I’m learning so much and having so much fun.

Here are some pics of the view I got to enjoy during my ride.

IMG_8741

 IMG_8749

IMG_8751

Oh, and the interactive weather Doppler on our local TV station website is my new best friend. Who woulda thunk it?

5 Comments
  1. March 23, 2009 6:02 pm

    You can see so many more things while bike riding as opposed to driving and you can cover so much more ground than walking! We love to bike ride and hope to get started soon here in the big North East! Glad to see you wear a helmet, I myself hate having anything on my head but I wear a helmet anyway.

    • March 23, 2009 7:59 pm

      I’m not sure, but I think a helmet out here is law. I could be wrong. But to me it’s not worth risking a head injury for my vanity. My hair’s going to get mussed up anyway. LOL.

  2. March 23, 2009 7:53 pm

    Do you take pictures while riding? OMG I would fall over. I am the world’s worst bike rider.

    • March 23, 2009 7:58 pm

      Oh, gosh no! I pulled over to snap those pics. LOL. I had so much fun, that’s for sure. Stay tuned for some fun pictures.

  3. March 27, 2009 11:18 am

    You’ve given me great inspiration. I just got a video camera meant for use on motorycles and cars, etc. (it’s for a product review I’m writing) and you made me realize I should try it out on my bike!

Comments are closed.

