Skip to content

Out of Office: I’m riding my bicycle

March 22, 2009

Ah, finally. I got my bicycle yesterday! I love it. I may just have to change the name of my blog because while the weather’s nice, I’m not going to be inside sewing any time soon. I’m going to be outside riding my bicycle. Exercise has never been so easy for me. I can’t wait for summer as I’ll be staying cool and fit with the breeze blowing across me as I ride the beautiful trails around this area on my bicycle. I can hardly believe myself. I am amazed with my life changes every day.

I’ll have pictures for you just as soon as my oldest daughter uploads them from her camera for me. Cayden and I rode our bikes (his still has training wheels and he’s practicing braking – a lot) around their cul-de-sac yesterday while I got used to riding my bike. Both my daughter and son-in-law hopped on for a bit and enjoyed the heck out of it. Just wait – in the next year or so, I’ll have my whole family biking with me, including grandkids.

By the way, it’s true: you never forget how to ride a bicycle.

Eventually, Lily will be going with me once I get her a carrier but first I have to get a rack for my car as putting the bike inside the back is just awkward, and last night, getting it out took me 20 minutes and I broke the chain guard. That pesky chain guard that broke in the shop before I ever bought it. Bad design. Actually, it wasn’t the guard that broke, but the place it attaches to the bike frame. So I have to take it down to the shop today and have them check it out. It’s still rideable, however and that’s exactly what I’m going to do today.

So, while I’m away, please enjoy this little fun and completely silly song by Queen.

4 Comments
  1. March 22, 2009 3:24 pm

    oooh…love that song! one day, i want to ride my bicycle again. gotta get this knee working again first.

    cheers to you for getting out there. i think biking is a great way to get some exercise. sooo much easier on the joints than running. and lily can come with you!

    • March 22, 2009 8:19 pm

      You’re right – it is easier on the body, and easier to do. I sometimes am driven to jog a bit – especially on my weekly walks with my friend whose dog pulls me along so fast! I’m already shopping for a cute bike basket for Lily.

  2. April 1, 2009 7:35 pm

    I really miss riding my bike. When I was living in CA they had bike paths everywhere and you could ride for miles and miles and miles and never have to deal with a car.

    Where I live now…sometimes they don’t even have SHOULDERS on the road! So you actually would have to ride in the lane with the cars and hope for the best. I’m not into hoping for the best when it comes to riding my bike with a bunch of rednecks and old people. Well, maybe if I were suicidal.

    • April 2, 2009 6:04 am

      Thanks, Wendy. Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog! Nice to meet you. It’s like that around here in some places, but bicycling is a huge pasttime for a lot of folks here, so they definitely have trails geared for them.

Comments are closed.

