Skip to content

Chilled to the bone

March 28, 2009

IMG_8818 Next week is April. You’d never believe it. But I didn’t let the weather stop me, like it normally would, from getting out and getting some activity. Thank goodness for friends and commitments to meet. My friend and I chose a different walk route today and according to this website, we walked 6.72 miles. In the rain.

We were freezing starting out, but soon warmed up. However by the time we were finished, legs were stiff and sore, and shoes were wet, soaked through, pants were sopping up to my thighs, but I had a wonderful sense of accomplishment. This is a good two miles more than we’ve walked the last several weeks. We yakked and yakked so the time just flew. It took us just 2 hours to walk the whole route.

After that, I warmed up, ate some lunch, and ran to get my nails done. Amazingly, the stiffness and soreness in my legs quickly dissipated but the chill in my bones did not. I really need to get better – more appropriate and waterproof – clothes if I’m going to be doing much more of this, and I fully intend to.

IMG_8826This afternoon, my niece was in town with her school lacrosse team playing against my daughter’s former high school. We drove out there to watch her play in the rain (and about 45 mile round trip) and I’m so glad I did. I hope she was happy that we showed up and “represented”.  My youngest daughter and the puppies all came along and we sat on the bleachers with our black and purple umbrellas(unintentional color choice because I didn’t know what her school colors were) and cheered her on. Unfortunately her team lost. I am amazed at the kids getting out there in the freezing (around 36 degrees F) wet rain.

Here’s Elizabeth – complete with orange mouth guard. I was so cold, I didn’t even notice that when shooting these pics.

IMG_8832 IMG_8834

After Elizabeth’s game, she had to hop on the bus and head home with her team, so we really only got about five or ten minutes to say hi, exchange hugs, and that was that.

IMG_8552 We had an impromptu stopover at my mom’s and ended up getting some Thai food carry out and hanging out with Mom for a couple hours. I had a vegetable stir fry with soy sauce (no cream or oils) and brown rice. Yum. We had all three doggies with us and my mom and her roommate just loved them all. They were all great and Daisy (left) is mom’s favorite. Daisy is everyone’s favorite. 🙂 Lily (right) barked a few times but for the most part, she loved hanging out on the sofa between my mom and me. She’s getting better at going out and visiting people.

Now we’re home, the dogs are exhausted and asleep, and I’m almost ready to do the same. Overall it was a great day. I’m still a bit chilled, but that will pass. Maybe a nice cup of chamomile tea will be my nightcap.

I’m sure ready for some sun and warmth! At any rate, I’m learning not to let the rain stop me from getting out and about. Hope you all are having a great weekend.

3 Comments
  1. March 29, 2009 4:13 pm

    Chilled to the bone is a perfect description of what I am today…the whole month of March has been crazy! Record snows here, then it was in the 80s, today we’re giving Chicago a run for “windy city” titles. I dont think it got out of the 40s, but the wind has had me chivering all day.

  2. March 30, 2009 8:14 am

    It’s (probably)kinda sadistic, but there’s such a sense of accomplishment to keeping with your exercise routine no matter what the weather, that it’s worth it. It feels more effective/constructive to have walked 7 miles in the rain or sleet than on a warm, cloudless day, doesn’t it? Too bad about the bone chillin’, but just think how many calories your body burned while attempting to warm itself up the rest of the day!

    Elizabeth’s orange mouth gaurd is awesome…so Marlon Brando in the Godfather. Very hip. Though prob’ly has no idea who Marlon Brando is. Just as well.

    I’m jealous of your Thai food! If we try and get anything like that around here, we end up with a tomato-based interpretation of Asian food. And a stomach ache (stomachache?). 🙂

  3. run4change permalink
    March 31, 2009 4:30 am

    HAH!! I had to laugh about the pierced tongue. I have my tongue pierced back in the day. 🙂

Comments are closed.

