Skip to content

Mini Vacation Time

April 1, 2009

053I’m off to Seaside, Oregon folks. Taking my mom there. Leaving tomorrow (Thursday) morning.

I won’t be riding one of these bikes, but I am picking my bike up tomorrow morning and bringing it with me. I have some other friends meeting us down there, and hopefully they remembered to bring their bikes too. If not, they can rent one, if they choose. Either way, I’m going on a bike ride and I don’t care if it’s raining, snowing, or whatever, or if I have to go by myself. I’m determined!

Yesterday I walked 5 miles in 90 minutes. I had a frustrating afternoon and rather than sit there and be cemented to my desk chair stressing out, I changed clothes, put my Zune in my pocket, turned on some upbeat music (think Earth Wind and Fire and the Bee Gees) and hustled my butt out the door. Boy did I feel good when that was done.

068This was me last year. I’’m going to take another one this year for comparison. I had just started my Weight Watchers journey (one month into it) last year when we went down there. And please pray that my mom’s health stays as strong as it has been this last year. Our last visit included her having a cold, falling, and going to the emergency room because the cut she gave herself on her arm wouldn’t stop bleeding after 15 hours. (She’s on a blood thinner.) I really would like to go there and not have a visit to a doctor.

039I’m hoping for blue skies and sunshine, even if it is windy or cold.  I’ll be taking some mini videos, if I can swing it, of my bike ride and will post for you as I get time. I also plan on getting so much activity in that I don’t have to worry too much about my points. I know that I’m not going to have a lot of control over what is served to me at a couple meals, but I’m going to get stuff to stock the in-room fridge so that I can snack on healthy things, and not be famished when it comes to dinner time. I lost 1.8 pounds this last week and it looks like I’ve figured out what I was doing wrong the couple weeks prior, so I want to keep the “momentum” going – pun intended!

See ya soon!

4 Comments
  1. April 1, 2009 7:31 pm

    Have a great time on your vacation!

  2. April 2, 2009 11:28 am

    You are making me feel lazy! I hope you have a great time. 🙂

  3. April 2, 2009 12:16 pm

    Don’t you just love the ocean? I know I do. Taking your bike is such a good idea and of course walking on the beach is great too. Vacations are so tough when you’re trying to watch what you eat but I think you’re going to be fine. Just keep away from that damn buttered popcorn!

Comments are closed.

