Skip to content

An Amazing Day, Amazing Thoughts

April 6, 2009

0406091304 (2) Today was a wonderful day for Weight Watchers, weather, and bicycling.

It was up in the 70s here, sunny, warm. My bike was luring me out the door, so off I went about an hour before my Weight Watchers meeting and rode a different path along the Sammamish River today for approximately 4.5 miles round trip. There were more hills on this path, so it really was a good workout.

Here’s the deal: bicycling really makes me happy, and I have no idea why. I have no idea what drew me to it in the first place, or why I feel this way about it. At one point today, I was riding along listening to some song that made me pedal faster, the sun was warm and my speed created a cooling breeze on my body, and I had this wide smile plastered all across my face. (And no, bugs did not land on my teeth either.) I felt liberated, free, exhilarated, healthy, inspired, alive. What more can you ask for, really?

Something that amazes me: bicyclists that frown like they are miserable. Isn’t this supposed to be fun? Why on earth do they seem so angry and so rude when they have to pass you because you’re slower? I don’t care if they pass me. I try to be courteous, and I’m still learning the rules of the road. If you’re not having fun, why do it?

My weigh in tonight was awesome. I am down 2.8 pounds and get this: I have only 24 pounds to go to meet my goal! To top it off, my leader mentioned that I only have 14 pounds to go until I can be a Weight Watcher’s receptionist. (You have to be within 10 pounds of your goal weight to be eligible. I would so do this. What a great way to make a bit more income.)

Now here’s something I can’t even believe that I’m even remotely considering: I was talking with my friend after the meeting and she wants to do a triathlon. You know: swim, bike, run? Ya, that tri-thingy. I’m already looking into joining a swim club near me to join instead of wasting money subscribing to online dating. I was already considering biking to go swimming, so it’s not a complete leap to consider swimming, then biking, and then, with a little training, if my back would allow it, running. Probably that latter one is the one that would cancel the activity out for me, but still – can you believe it?

What an amazing day. I can’t believe I am so close to goal now – less than 25 pounds to go. That’s the best part of all.

6 Comments
  1. April 6, 2009 10:08 pm

    yay! you have done an amazing job.

  2. April 7, 2009 4:11 am

    Amazing progress, congratulations !

    Don’t ‘they’ always say to find something you enjoy for your exercise. You won’t do it if you’re not having fun – and you are certainly enjoying the bike. Keep it up 🙂

  3. Belle permalink
    April 7, 2009 4:27 am

    The AMAZING part of this whole deal is YOU, my dear. You sound so happy!

  4. April 7, 2009 7:49 am

    You are one awesome girl. Look at you!! You’re getting younger not older. A triathlon! Wow! I’ve lost 6 pounds according to my crappy scale since I got home from the knee thing. I’m back on track. You inspire me as I’ve said before. I wish I lived near you. I’d love to go to meetings with you.

  5. Bev permalink
    April 7, 2009 6:24 pm

    Sorry, that was me (“Belle”) up there! My fake name was automatically filled in without me noticing it! Ah well. But Belle thinks you are amazing, too! 🙂

  6. April 8, 2009 5:27 pm

    The bug thing on your teeth made me laugh. There’s an Andy Griffith episode where Barney gets a motorcycle and announces to Andy, “It’s impossible to pronounce the letter ‘S’ with your mouth wide open while riding a motorcycle.” And Andy says, “Please tell me you don’t ride around town on that thing with your mouth wide open.”
    So if you ride around on your bike with a big smile on your face, don’t try to pronounce the letter ‘S’!!
    I can’t believe the progress you’ve made! You really need to be in Weight Watchers magazine, have you ever checked into it? I almost didn’t go for my run today but I told myself that it was only taking about 45 minutes out of my day and to just do it. So I did. One day at a time, right?

Comments are closed.

