Skip to content

Easter Weekend Photos

April 12, 2009

What a full weekend. What a great weekend.

IMG_8909 Yesterday morning, I got up and a friend an I went off to the local arboretum in Seattle and joined a few dozen other walkers for an 11k walk. (That’s about 6.8 miles). It was somewhat misty, lightly raining, but not enough to carry an umbrella. This was a great walk, through trails, on sidewalks, up hills, down hills, across marshes around the lake, and through residential areas full of mature landscaping and beautiful Tudor homes. The arboretum was starting to bloom with early spring color. My friend and I walked hard and fast and passed several walkers who were there more for a stroll, it seemed, and taking in of all the sounds and sights. We were there for that as well, but more for fitness. And this was a different walk than the other 7 mile walk I did. My hips hurt pretty badly at the end of the walk, but after a couple hours, I felt better.

I thought it was cool how these ferns were just starting to open up.

IMG_8921

What a gorgeous tree.

IMG_8924

IMG_8926

Out on the marsh islands – I think that’s what they call them – that meander around the edge of the lake.

IMG_8928

Two hours later, I was at my grandson’s birthday part at a local “jump” place. There are several of them out here. They take a huge empty warehouse, put in the giant inflatable slides, bouncy things with obstacle courses, and charge a nice price for parties or daily visits. What an ingenious way to use an empty warehouse, and I’m sure quite financially lucrative. This one was particularly nice, and let me tell you…my weight loss has paid off because other than worrying about my back, I had no hesitation to climbing up and sliding down one of the slides with my grandson, the birthday boy. What a riot!

Cody looks like he’s levitating in this picture.

IMG_8959

Yup, that’s me jumping! Whoever took the picture cut my head off. LOL. It appears blurry because of the mesh netting enclosing the bouncy area.

IMG_8973 IMG_8975

This game was hilarious. Giant boxing gloves. Too funny.

IMG_8984

IMG_8989

After the party, I followed my daughter and her family home and spent a bit of time enjoying watching Cayden open his toys and play with them. What’s his favorite toy? Yup, the Iron Man mask with Repulsor Blaster. He hasn’t put it down since I gave it to him. Of course, he loves all his new toys. He got a remote controlled Jeep and he is getting a kick out of that too.IMG_9033

This morning when I woke up, my fibromyalgia was screaming at me making sure to let me know that I overdid it yesterday. Oh, what the heck. I figure that I’m going to hurt anyway, and I do, so I might as well hurt having a blast and enjoying life. It eased up over the day, but I’m still tired.

IMG_9038 Today I spent the day hanging out taking it easy up at my daughter’s house, and enjoying the little kids. We had a totally non-traditional meal: Cody barbequed rib-eye steak for Cindy and him, and thin pork chops for me. I also steamed asparagus, cauliflower, and broccoli, plus baked yams and salad. Overall, I think I did really well with my food plan for this holiday. Tomorrow’s weigh in will tell.

 

Some photos of the Easter egg hunt in the wet backyard at my daughter’s house.

Looking up for eggs. Hmmm.

IMG_9040

IMG_9041

IMG_9046

I hope everyone had a great Holiday weekend. I sure did. Now it’s time to wind down and reenergize for a busy work week ahead. And if I did as well as I think I did with my activity and eating this week, at my weigh-in tomorrow night, I’ll earn my 65 pound award!

Next weekend is looking very promising for sunny weather and a bike ride around the tulip fields up in Mt. Vernon. I’ll take a video of that, if the tulips are in bloom. So far, they’re slow in blooming.

Later, peeps. 🙂

3 Comments
  1. April 13, 2009 4:17 am

    The walk sounds nice **hard, long, but very nice** – Looks as if you had fun at your grandson’s party- and so did all the kids! That tree is wicked cool! I love tree’s, how can you not appreciate a beautiful tree?

    Congrats on your new weight loss level- 65 lbs is a ton of weight- congrats! Also, hope your fibromyalga settles down soon- btw, Award for you at my place 🙂

  2. April 13, 2009 4:50 am

    Great pics! I love that house, and the jumpy stuff looks like fun. And you! You are so skinny! I hope you are not still losing weight because you look perfect! Nice toned arms too. 🙂

  3. April 13, 2009 10:57 am

    I’m happy you had such a great weekend. I love that tree. It looks like you had some fun with the kids. You are looking so good. Sorry to hear the fibro is acting up. I hope the flare up doesn’t last too long. Keep up all that walking and cycling. You really prove it can be done.

Comments are closed.

