Skip to content

Did Someone Say Makeover?

April 26, 2009

 

My bloggy friend, Joan, recently posted about the makeover of Susan Boyle, and the value of it for any woman. Uncanny timing of topics, that Joanie. Just this last week, I’d been looking at my own hair and realizing it really was time to get back to the salon and this time get a stylist who would do more listening to me and what I wanted rather than blabbing on loudly, ignoring me, and giving me just the same ol’ haircut. Ugh.

So I went, got my color done, and in the pre-consultation with the stylist, said, “Think makeover.”

“Do you want it shorter?” she asked.

“Yup. But not too short. As much as I try, I am just not a long-hair kind of girl. It gets heavy and is too high maintenance for me. But it can’t be an old lady short haircut either, and not one of those way short in the back, long in the front cuts. It has to be fun and youthful.”

I went on to tell the stylist, “I have lost a lot of weight, and my face is slimmer, so I want something very flattering, somewhat of a dramatic change. Think ‘Biggest Loser Makeover’. “

And that’s precisely what I got. My daughter, after I snapped this picture and emailed it to her, confirmed that I got exactly that result. I walked out of that salon about four inches taller and floating on air. I felt wonderful.

My neighbor exclaimed, “Look at your new do! Don’t take this the wrong way, but you look 15 years younger.” I am definitely not insulted by that compliment.

This mini-makeover is exactly what I needed to keep me motivated to reach my final goal.

So, without further ado, here’s the before and after.

Before (My brother and me in Seattle in March)

IMG_8625

After – the new me!

IMG_9144

Woohooo! I’m ready for summer – bring it on!

17 Comments
  1. April 26, 2009 10:26 am

    WOW ! You look great ! All your hard work is paying off 🙂

  2. April permalink
    April 26, 2009 12:37 pm

    YES! It looks great. VERY Nice. You should update your profile picture, your new cut does make you look younger and is quite slimming! Congrats on the new ‘do.

  3. Bev permalink
    April 26, 2009 12:54 pm

    Va Va Voom! You look fantastic! Great hair, great body! Such determination you have had and I’m so impressed with how well you have done.

    Bring it on? You bet, baby! 🙂

  4. Mary permalink
    April 26, 2009 1:50 pm

    Very chic! Looking good!!!

  5. April 26, 2009 3:03 pm

    shorter definitely suits you!

  6. LauraM62 permalink
    April 26, 2009 3:58 pm

    That is fabulous darling! You do look younger, and like you are ready for some fun & sun 😆

  7. April 26, 2009 4:30 pm

    You look 10 years younger! That’s a great cut!! Yay for your choice to find someone new.

  8. April 26, 2009 5:16 pm

    All can say is WOW! WOW! WOW! You look fabulous.. I’ll bet it feels good too. I think feeling good about yourself brings out the fabulousness. Awesome!1 Oh, thanks for the linky love.

  9. Cathy permalink
    April 27, 2009 2:54 am

    You are so inspiring….and your hair looks awesome!

  10. April 27, 2009 5:04 am

    I thought your hair looked nice before! But this new cut is great, I love it!

  11. April 27, 2009 8:14 am

    I think you looked beautiful both ways.

  12. April 28, 2009 8:00 am

    Gosh, you look incredible! Love the new ‘do!

  13. run4change permalink
    April 29, 2009 7:36 am

    Nothing short of amazing. you are awesome. I love the after pic. Makes me happy for you. It must feel wonderful

    • April 29, 2009 7:52 am

      Thanks! I’m blushing now from all these nice comments. I feel so good these days, I guess it’s showing.

  14. May 2, 2009 6:26 pm

    You look SOOOO fantastic! And you really do look 10 years younger, not that you looked “old” but you know what I mean. Wow.

    • May 3, 2009 5:48 am

      Definitely know what you mean, Wendy. 🙂 Maybe soon, if I keep this up, I’ll look 28 again? Hee hee.

  15. May 11, 2009 12:16 pm

    bonjour,you are beautiful .kiss of France .Isabelle

Comments are closed.

