Skip to content

Who’s the Cat and Who’s the Dog?

April 30, 2009

Recently I went to a potluck at my mom’s. She has these things pretty regularly. This time, I took Lily, my Chihuahua, along. My youngest daughter has been scolding me to socialize her more so I’ve been taking her more places and she’s getting more and more used to people. That means less nipping and less barking and more cuteness.

My mom has a cat – an orange tabby – named Timmy. Timmy has an identity problem. He isn’t really aware that he’s a cat. He thinks he’s a human sometimes – commanding his own chair at these functions.

IMG_9159

This particular evening, I think he fancied himself as a dog. When I got there with Lily, I set up her little carrier as a bed for her to “hide” in away from people if she wanted, and immediately Timmy went and climbed in it as if he owned it. Unfortunately, I missed a picture of that.

Possibly Timmy felt a little insecure in his position as the alpha pet and felt he had to compete for the food offerings. He did, somewhat. But he and Lily both did a great job of coercing these humans to shower them with morsels of fried chicken.

I’ll let the pictures tell the rest of the story.

Lily smells chicken and is begging for food. Timmy comes up and wonders what she’s up to.

IMG_9146

Timmy wonders how he can get some of that goodness too.

IMG_9147

IMG_9148

“Numm. Maybe if I get right up here and beg more openly, I can get some more of that. That dog certainly can’t get up here. Haha.”

IMG_9166

How about this? Will this work?

IMG_9169 

Maybe if I get right in her face?

IMG_9173

Lily sticking her tongue out, embarrassed for Timmy.

IMG_9171

Little beggars.

2 Comments
  1. Mary permalink
    April 30, 2009 11:45 am

    Furbabies are great, aren’t they! Thanks for the laugh!

  2. May 3, 2009 8:12 am

    See, Beatrice, my cat, is always begging for food. She even managed to touch my hamburger once with her paw.

    I love your avator, you are so skinny in it, how fantastic. And, I enjoyed your Friday list. Nice of you to say all of that.

Comments are closed.

