Skip to content

Tumbelina

May 2, 2009

LFPstreet It was a beautiful morning. Somewhat overcast, slightly muggy, a mild breeze was picking up, and with it came the promise of some light Spring rain. We walked briskly up the older suburban hills that were lush with mature foliage ripening with spring blossoms, fragrant with the anticipatory smells of warmer weather. Older homes dotted the sidewalks and through the large trees we could spot the lake at the bottom of the hill. We chatted among ourselves enjoying the camaraderie and sharing how we liked this house and that plant.

I was tethered to Jake, my friend’s eleven year old black lab, who was the leader of the pack as he wove in and out between my companions always making sure he was in front. His pace was quick and steady, his strength and stamina belied the gray hairs on his paws and chin. As usual, Jake made sure my pace was brisk and within minutes of starting out, I was jogging occasionally and working up a modest sweat. My confidence built as I jogged more and kept up with my four-legged task master. Man, this is feeling great, I thought to myself.

Looking to my right, and still keeping pace with Jake, I remarked out loud to my companions something about the home on our right. Was it the pretty blossoming tree that was like one I had planted? Did I like that particular entryway better than one I’d seem moments earlier? My head was in dreamland, as if I was absentmindedly flipping through the glossy picture pages of Better Homes and Gardens on a Saturday morning over a cup of hot coffee.

Suddenly, I was airborne.

Then, wham. My right hip hit the concrete with a little bit of a bounce, followed by the rest of my body, and then stopped. I hadn’t seen the drain hole cover that was sunken into the ground four inches lower than the rest of the street. Jake, my trusted leader, had jumped right over it. My feet didn’t navigate it so well.

My friends were suddenly surrounding me.

“Are you okay?”

“Your left ankle twisted, does it hurt? How about your right ankle?”

“Let’s see your hand. What about your arm? Here, let us help you up.”

I let my friends help me up, and we made a cursory examination of my injuries. Ankles, fine, check. Hand, somewhat scratched on the palm, check. Hip, man that’s going to have a nice bruise. Everything else? Good to go.

I turned to my friends who had been behind me watching me go airborne, and suddenly, I started choking with laughter as I asked, “Well, was I at least graceful?”

We all laughed. And Jake, ever the task master, sniffed at me as if to say, “Let’s go, lady. Work it out.”

(Photo credit: http://lake-forest-park.blogspot.com/)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

PS: Six hours later, and my hip is really hurting. I think it’s somewhat swollen and I’m taking it easy. But it’s not broken, and thank goodness there wasn’t an additional 65 pounds to add to the force of that landing. Although, the extra padding might have made it hurt a little less. And we did finish our 10k walk!

7 Comments
  1. May 2, 2009 6:22 pm

    Thank God you didn’t break anything! You’re in such great shape now, I’m sure that has something to do with being resilient. Oh, it’s just awful to take a fall like that, it really shakes you up not just physically but emotionally as well. I’ll spare you the list of spills I’ve taken over the past few years, but I will say that ever since I broke my foot, now every time I start to go down I think “How is THIS going to effect my life?” I’m so glad you’re okay! 🙂

    • May 3, 2009 5:42 am

      I know, Wendy, I’ve been thinking the same thing. I also wonder about the day when I’m old and take a spill and I will have to worry about a broken hip, not just a bruised and swollen one. I’ve always been kinda clumsy this way, though.

  2. May 3, 2009 4:06 am

    ouch! take it easy for a few days. did you ice it right away? if not, it’s not too late. if the pain persists, definitely see a doctor.

    but, yeah…. sounds like something i would do. 🙂

    • May 3, 2009 5:44 am

      Well, I didn’t ice it right away, in fact, I soaked in a hot bath – um, probably the wrong thing to do, but I iced it later. I’m going to my chiropractor tomorrow because my shoulder and upper arm (same side) is also stiff today.

  3. May 4, 2009 6:50 am

    ooo ouch! Glad you’re getting the chiro to check you out at least. I took a tumble a couple of years ago…catching myself with my right arm…and didnt find out til a year later that I had damaged my rotator cuff tendons. What could have been easily fixed now is just a royal pain in the butt…er…arm.

    • May 4, 2009 7:49 am

      Thanks, Mr. VV. I am pretty sure I’m just bruised up and probably whacked my back out of alignment, but he’ll know for sure. I hear those rotator cuff injuries are pretty bad. Hope you’re okay now.

  4. May 5, 2009 6:32 am

    It still “Acts up” from time to time, but I can at least wash my hair without being in pain now. I just have to remember to keep those muscles in shape…if I go a few weeks without exercising them, Im back to square one.

Comments are closed.

