Skip to content

Does this count for working out?

May 9, 2009

IMG_9307How about up and down this for stair-stepping? The poor man’s stair-climber? I wonder how many calories I burned if I climbed that up and down, oh, say, at least 20 times?

I was supposed to go walking this morning with a friend, but that got canceled because she is sick. So, I figured since it was nice out, I’d better get rolling on cleaning the siding and the gutters. I really would have rather gone for a beautiful bike ride, but the homeowner’s association has been riding my butt to get this done. And I just don’t have $300 laying around to pay someone to do it. So, today I was on my way to rent a ladder and figured I’d better just buy one instead. Every homeowner needs a ladder and I don’t know how I’ve managed without one for 8 years now.

IMG_9308This is the grime I had to scrub off the gutters. And that’s a moderately dirty spot. Eight years of rain and snow. I used vinegar, Dawn dish soap, and hot water, and about a six inch scrub brush. I cleaned the vinyl siding and gutters by hand, and finished the whole front of the house, except for the second floor. I couldn’t climb up there without someone spotting me.

Now they are the shiniest gutters on the street.

When I was done, my neighbors had come out and were doing yard work and laying mulch, so to help out, I moved 70 paving stones. Two at a time. I did squats and leg lifts and considered lifting the bricks as arm curls.

During my lunch, I took some pictures of these lovelies in my back yard: purple columbine.

IMG_9316

IMG_9319

IMG_9313

Hope everyone is having a great weekend, and if you’re a mommy, Happy Mother’s Day!

6 Comments
  1. May 10, 2009 8:17 am

    those flowers are gorgeous. can’t believe they are actually in your yard and not some fancy botanical garden. 🙂

    • May 10, 2009 6:45 pm

      I don’t know how those flowers turned out so pretty in my dingy yard, but they did. They keep flourising year after year, no matter what I do to the contrary. LOL. 🙂

  2. Linda Thompson permalink
    May 10, 2009 6:34 pm

    I’m a long-time reader of your blog and enjoy it so much. When I saw your picture of the ladder at that angle, I wanted to make sure you knew that the base of a ladder should only be one-fourth of its working length from the house. If you have a ladder that is extended 12′, the base should only be out from the house about 3′. Your looks like it is more like 5 to 6′, and I can’t tell if the ladder is extended 10′ or 12′. I don’t mean to be an alarmist (okay, maybe I do because I am really concerned about your falling off a ladder and not being able to blog, not to mention walking, biking, etc.), but I’ve seen someone fall off a ladder that was at about this same angle. I’ll spare you the details–let’s just say it wasn’t pretty.

    Linda in TN

    • May 10, 2009 6:48 pm

      Linda, welcome and thank you for letting me know you read my blog. I want to assure you that I didn’t climb the ladder with it at that angle. I had only propped it there as I got it out of the car. So, not to worry. I also bought a stabilizing bar for it to be extra safe. Sometimes I’d spend a good 20 minutes positioning the ladder just right so I would be safe. I am glad to know the specifics about how far out it should be. I never knew that and it is very helpful!

  3. May 10, 2009 6:43 pm

    If you thought you were sore after you fell on your butt the other day, I can’t imagine how you’ll feel tomorrow after all those squats! Last year after I spent an afternoon picking hickory nuts in my back yard I was horrified the next morning when I could barely walk! I may be a runner but apparently squatting uses a whole different set of muscles. Please keep us informed!!

    • May 10, 2009 6:49 pm

      I’m starting to feel the effects, now, Laura! I’ll keep you posted.

Comments are closed.

