Skip to content

A Mixed-Bag of a Weekend

May 25, 2009

Whenever I have a long weekend, I usually have a very long list of projects and things I want to accomplish. Usually, too many than time, money, or energy will allow. But I don’t think I’m unique there – I just think that’s part of the human condition.

Here’s what I did accomplish this weekend during all three days of gloriously sunny, moderately warm Seattle weather.

Shopping with my daughter. I found some cute pale pink Bermuda shorts, a white blouse weight jacket (perfect for cool summer evenings) and an orange and white knit top. I still need tons more clothes, and I can – and should – sew up a bunch of skirts for myself rather than pay $20 for a knit skirt from Fred Meyer. I just don’t have the inclination to sew lately – well, I do, but I’m overwhelmed when I look at my sewing room, so I don’t go there.

Babysitting the grandkids. After shopping, my daughter and son-in-law went to an afternoon party, so I watched the little tykes. My youngest grandson has taken to calling me “nana”, whereas the older grandson calls me “Damma”, and my granddaughter just calls me “Grandma.” They didn’t like my non-breaded version of chicken nuggets. Well, Evan did, but Evan’s an easy boy to please.

Touring the local home improvement store. I went there to pick up some spackle and two-cycle oil for the kids and ended up browsing almost the whole store including window shopping for future ceiling fans, and finally picking up three java red weigela plants and a bunch of organic soil.

(By the way – did you know that around here some of the organic soil we purchase is made from the same green bin refuse we pay the waste people to haul off.)

Yard maintenance. Borrowed the kids gas-powered line trimmer to cut down nearly three-feet high grass from along the outside of my fence line. That’s about 96-100 feet of fence line, but it doesn’t look like it in this picture. It’s also the top of a retaining wall that ranges from a 4 foot drop to about a 20 foot drop, so I had to be very careful not to slip and fall. It was a great workout for the upper arms, that’s for sure.

IMG_9507

Finishing a long overdue project. Back when Cayden was born, Cody’s mom and I saw this great chair by a dumpster. It was beige and looked horrible, but it’s very comfortable: wide, glider rocker, and durable. I bought a cushion for it and kept it, always planning to paint it black. Finally, four years later, I accomplished that goal. Just goes to show, better late than never. While I was at it, I spray painted two wood frames that I’ll be reusing around the house.

As a side note, I wonder why I bothered protecting the grass – no other reason than to keep the grass from getting on the paint. The grass is really a thick layer of moss over hard clay. Future project, that grass.

IMG_9512

Getting my nails done and a pedicure. While there, the girls in the salon tried to “introduce” this handsome single guy to me. That totally cracked me up. One of the girls asked him if he was single, he said yes, and she asked if he was looking for someone. He replied, “Not in this lifetime.” Apparently, he’s a busy father of three and “doesn’t have time for all that stuff.” It made me think about what men my age might think about relationships and why they balk. Have they been so badly burned by a super-clingy woman that they would rather have no companionship than risk finding the right, self-confident, independent woman? Hmmm. Food for thought.

Highlight of the weekend: Going in to Evan’s room to pick him up as he woke up from his nap. He sees me, smiles, and says “nana” with outstretched arms. I’ve been a blob of mushy goo ever since. 🙂

Hope you all had a great weekend.

5 Comments
  1. May 26, 2009 6:00 pm

    the “four years later” reminds me of my own life. It always drove me crazy when my parents or friends put off projects like that. Now that I have a house, a job, and all the other things that go along with being “grown up” I can totally relate…there are things that have been waiting 6 months around here that wouldnt take ten minutes to do and I just can not find the time!

  2. May 31, 2009 6:51 am

    I always put off projects, too. But at least you got it done, and it looks great. A $250 chair at least. I ought to know, I’ve been reading the flyers.

    As for men balking at relationships in this day and age, I truly believe that when you peel back all the superficial reasons the bottom line is money. I think they’ve got in their heads that a relationship=spending money somehow. I know I sound jaded or maybe even unfair, but I do think that men break everything down to dollars and cents.

  3. May 31, 2009 6:52 am

    And hey, what the heck was a man doing in the nail salon? You don’t want a guy who gets manicures anyway. They’re very fussy, and usually turn out to be some kind of used car salesman.

    • May 31, 2009 4:36 pm

      You’re right, Wendy. Plus, my mani-pedi time is MY time and I don’t want to share it with my guy. Just won’t do that. LOL.

Comments are closed.

