Skip to content

Scenes from my Saturday

May 30, 2009

I went for my normal Saturday walk with my walking buddy and her doggies today. We did about 3.5 miles today (short walk) and chose a different venue. We love to choose different places to walk and are finding some really pretty locales nearby. This time I brought my camera, which I’m going to do more often.

We walked along this river up in Everett, WA. The weather was absolutely gorgeous and a light breeze blew to keep us cool as we walked at quite a clip.

IMG_9523

I seem to have this thing for park benches. Not sleeping on them, though.

IMG_9526

Caught this boat coming up the river. Love the turquoise color of the hull against the green of the river.

IMG_9529

This picture doesn’t do this view justice. It really was far prettier in person and in the fall we’ll go back to see how the vegetation turns colors. My friend described the water color as camouflage green.

IMG_9534

IMG_9538

After walking, I met my mom and our friend who was visiting from Portland and we went to lunch at the Cheesecake Factory. Have you ever looked at their nutrition guide? Quite eye opening, even just for a seemingly “healthy salad” that calculates out at 11 points! Man. I chose the Luau salad with dressing on the side for 467 calories or so. They don’t provide the fiber info, so it’s hard to tell for sure how many points. But after my workout two days in a row, I figure I was good with that choice. (Friday morning I had gone for a 4 mile walk, with one mile of that running without stopping!)

After lunch, we took our friend to the train station as she had to head home. Then I dropped mom off and headed over to my daughter’s house to see the boys. I had picked up a “surprise” for Cayden that his mommy found on Craigslist.

IMG_9566

She found a Woody doll, Jessie, and another Buzz Lightyear doll for him. He was so tickled about this. He’d been asking for them for a LONG time.

IMG_9571

IMG_9564

I hung around for a bit and watched Cayden swim in their pool.

IMG_9559

Man he looks like his mom. I wish I had a scanner to scan a picture I have of her at the same age.

IMG_9561

Cindy put up this tent that she got when Elise was a baby, and Evan had so much fun playing peekaboo with me in it.

IMG_9548

IMG_9543

Look at those cute cheeks!

IMG_9575

Someone confiscated my water bottle.

IMG_9580

IMG_9582

After all this, a full day, Lily and I came home and are resting up for another busy day in the sun tomorrow. Or maybe just a resting day in the sun. Have to take advantage of it when it’s here.

Happy Saturday folks.

5 Comments
  1. May 30, 2009 7:11 pm

    That looks like a beautiful area to walk. That’s awesome that you ran a whole mile. Good work. I did good this week for the most part. I’ll find out Monday. It didn’t take much to get back into the swing of things.

    It definitely sounds like you had a full day today. The pictures of the kids are great. I sure would like to pinch those little cheeks.

    • May 30, 2009 7:14 pm

      Joan, I do pinch those little cheeks. Soon you will have your own squishy baby to squeeze. I’m eager to see how I did on Monday too.

  2. May 31, 2009 6:45 am

    You must have legs like STEEL by now, Claire, tight as a drum. That must feel so wonderful. How long have you been walking regularly now? It seems like quite a while. Do you feel like everything is tighter because of it?

    Your grandsons are such cuties. Honestly, they remind me of adorable puppies you just want to pick up and hug.

    • May 31, 2009 4:38 pm

      Well, Wendy, for the most part, yes, but there was so much excess around my arse that it’s taking time for that to tone up. The best compliment I had was when Cayden gave me a hug and said, “Damma, you hard!” Thank you about my grandsons. They are too stinking cute – and sweet too boot.

Comments are closed.

