Skip to content

Attitude is Everything

June 2, 2009

Seems like attitude has been the topic of discussion with my friends and me lately. I have to really reach into the farthest depths of my mind to find anything to complain about, and even then, it’s miniscule and irrelevant. I am blessed and taken care of and love every aspect of my life. Yes, that sounds gushing and effusive, I’m sure, but after years of practicing positive thinking and gratitude (and it does take practice), it really becomes a part of who you are. That doesn’t mean that I don’t have my moments of loneliness, resentment, regret, frustration, or any other negative emotion – I do – but they are brief and pass very quickly. It’s rare that I ever get into one of my old funks where I feel sorry for myself and alone and woe is me, where is Mr. Right, and why do I have to do everything alone?

I’ve come to believe that I’m right where I should be, and that I’m alone for a reason (but not lonely), and I’m embracing it. Could be like Maya Angelou says in her book, “In the Meantime”, that my Mr. Right isn’t yet ready for me, even if I’m ready for him. So I create my own bliss, transform my life into what brings me joy and give to others as much as I can.

So what’s keeping me happy and positive today?

v SEATTLE SUNSHINE! There is nothing better than waking up in the morning with a warm breeze coming through the open windows and the sun streaming down on you as you drink that first cup of morning coffee.

v Knowing that I don’t have to rush out the door and battle traffic congestion and crazy hurried angry drivers. Thank you!

v The ability to interrupt my day to go for a lovely walk/jog and get those endorphins flowing and keep the metabolism running smoothly.

v Learning that after last night’s 3.2 pounds weight loss that I only have 20.6 pounds more to go to hit my lifetime goal at Weight Watchers! That means, if my averages stay steady, that I can do that in about 4 more months. I average about five pounds loss a month, when I’m paying attention and focusing on exercise and tracking. I can probably speed that up with more running and biking.

v My Chihuahua, Lily. The unconditional love she gives can’t help but make you smile and feel good. Her silliness when she won’t come inside and makes me come out and pick her up cracks me up.

v My family – especially my daughters and my grandchildren. I’m so grateful that they are close by me, and having them nearby makes me feel secure and safe.

v Phone calls from my grandkids when they just call to say hello, whatcha doing, or ask me how much a bag of dogfood costs. 😉

 

So, to end this stream of positiveness, Mary gave me this award. Thank you! I am not good at these award thingies, but I guess here’s what I’m supposed to do:

 

1. Put the logo on your blog or post.
– Done.
2. Nominate a few blogger’s that show an attitude of gratitude.
-  How about Teri at Mermaids? She is always positive and has a refreshing perspective on things.
– Then there is Melissa at The Inspired Room. I love her inspirations and reading her blog posts always makes me feel good.

– My Weight Watcher’s and running inspiration, Jason over at My Angle. This guy is totally amazing. You should take some time and just read through his blog posts. You’ll be inspired!
3. Link to your nominees within your post.
– Done
4. Comment on their blogs to let them know they’ve received this award.
– will do, although they’ll see the link in their dashboard, I’m sure.
5. Share the love and link to this post and the person who nominated you for the award.
– Done.
6. Tell us how you’ve come to have an attitude of gratitude.
– I think I already did this above.

In closing, I hope everyone has a terrific day today and finds something to be grateful for. Life isn’t always peachy wonderful, and I acknowledge that, but even in the depths of pain and despair, there is a gift somewhere. If you’re in the middle of that pain, hang in there and never give up hope.

One Comment
  1. June 2, 2009 3:23 pm

    awwww… thanks! i totally agree that attitude makes a difference. tho, the last month of school is a challenging time for a teacher to maintain a positive attitude. 🙂

Comments are closed.

