Skip to content

Not in my wildest dreams!

June 5, 2009

Remember this post? I had bought these vintage sundresses from a coworker for about $5 each back in September 2007, according to the date of my post. I sold the red one at a yard sale recently (don’t regret that), and these two have been sitting on the loveseat in my front room staring at me for months.

I was going to cut up the blue dress and turn it into throw cushions or a bag, and the white one I was going to give to my friend April after she had her baby. But not now. (Sorry, April, you’re out of luck.)

Why? Because I got a wild hair this morning and actually tried them on.

They both fit! Well, sort of. The blue is too small around the armholes, and hence, I can’t zip it all the way up the back. BUT…. there is plenty – and I mean plenty – of room around the hips. The seams are just straight stitched with a good 1/2” seam allowance, and I bet with a little ingenuity, I can cut the armholes bigger and ease the seams around the upper bodice to make it work. (That dress is a vintage size 8, by the way – at least, I presume it’s vintage.)

The white dress fits me completely. It’s about 1/4 inch too snug around the waist, but it still fits everywhere else. Another 10 pounds and I can wear it this summer! That can be my rockin’ weight goal celebration dress! (And the back on that dress is awesome as all get out – cuts low, to the waistband.)

What’s even cooler about this is that I knew that white dress would fit my friend April and she’s skinny, with a capital S, even after three kids. And now it fits me. That means… perhaps I’m almost skinny too! I wrote way back then, “The woman who could fit these dresses has to be very petite with zero hips and a small bustline.” Ha! Never, ever, in my wildest dreams did I think I’d fit into clothing that I figured would better fit my skinny friend, April! My, oh my!

And, yes, that’s the small dress form they’re on in the pics, which goes to validate my notion that I can get rid of the large form once and for all! WOOHOOO!

This success feels great! Sorry if I keep gushing about all this, but it really, truly is so exciting – and motivating!

I’m walking two miles up (four miles round trip) to the local Starbucks this morning for a status meeting with my boss – this has just motivated me to see how much of that I can run!

6 Comments
  1. June 5, 2009 7:10 am

    That is so awesome and you should be gushing. That is some thing to be proud of. You are going to be one hot mama in that whit dress. I want to see a photo of you in that dress this summer!!

    • June 5, 2009 7:30 am

      Thanks, Joan – and you WILL see a photo of me in it. I can’t wait! Now I just need somewhere to wear it to!

  2. June 5, 2009 9:04 am

    that is amazing.

  3. Judi S permalink
    June 5, 2009 10:09 am

    You gush all you want! You have made major changes in your life and now it’s time to reap the rewards!

    I vote for pictures too!! 🙂

  4. June 6, 2009 12:44 pm

    gush away – you’ve made fabulous progress and those dresses are going to look and feel great on you ! 🙂

  5. April permalink
    June 6, 2009 9:05 pm

    Well, color me bummed. BUT, I am VERY happy that they fit you. That is so wonderful. Maybe though I can still borrow them sometime? I really love the white dress! And thanks for the skinny compliment. I am not feeling so skinny in my current post pardum state. Oy.

Comments are closed.

