Skip to content

Weekend Photos

June 8, 2009

Just a few fun photos from the weekend for your entertainment.

Evan with his favorite toy of all time. He’ll sit and play with this for hours, I’m told. (Well, maybe not literally hours…) Love how the air blowing out of the machine is blowing his hair.

IMG_9661

Don’t you just want to squeeze those cheeks?

IMG_9667

My companion this weekend. Lily was really good on Saturday, but I think she was more tired on Sunday and still needs to learn to be around little kids who naturally have fast, sudden movements that startle her and who only want to pet her and love on her. She was a bit too growly and nippy yesterday. Sorry, kids.

IMG_9672

My daughter didn’t know I captured this, but I think it is so sweet.

IMG_9676

From the Duvall Days parade on Saturday. Um, ya, don’t expect me to be adding “Rodeo Washington” after my alias.

IMG_9644

Caught pictures of these pretty Spanish dressed people and horses for my granddaughter, Elise. She would have flipped had she seen these, and would have wanted to be the lady in the pretty dress on the horse herself.

IMG_9653

IMG_9658

IMG_9660

My truckload (well, SUV-load) of plants I got for the ridiculously low price of $100. This is now next weekend’s project: plant them in the yard somewhere so they don’t all die off. I must have gotten 10 or 12 boxwoods, one large hydrangea (probably worth $50 alone for that plant if I had bought it at Lowes), some low growing junipers and some other ground cover, some other plants I don’t know the names of, but they are all pretty! The idea is to plant the low growing ones in the front yard and eliminate the waste of a postage stamp area of grass. No maintenance! Stay tuned, I’ll take before and after photos.

IMG_9683

Now, I must get rolling. I have an incredibly busy work week ahead and need to focus!

6 Comments
  1. June 9, 2009 9:01 am

    What a good deal on all the plants. And cutting down on lawn is a great idea. Bushes and bark mulch look nice too. Good luck with your gardening next weekend.

    • June 9, 2009 9:44 am

      My homeowners association has criticized me in writing that my lawn was not flourishing. I’ll show them. I’ll have no lawn to flourish!

      • June 10, 2009 5:12 pm

        Seriously? Not flourishing? Can you ask them in writing to come on over and fertilize and water it for ya? If the plants don’t work out (which they will) maybe you can have your lawn paved over and paint it green. Stick a few flamingos here and there …

      • June 10, 2009 5:19 pm

        Yes, I’m serious. That was the precise word they used in the letter. They can KMA. I like the idea of painting it green. My daughter also took a lovely photo of two pink flamingos at the zoo yesterday. I think I should blow them up, cut them out on cardboard and put them like signs all over the front yard. Then I can be what they obviously already think I am. My yard is fine, just not up to the Stepford standards.

        Oh, and I’m not asking permission to paint my front door black either. 🙂

      • June 11, 2009 6:06 pm

        There’s a house kind of in the woods that I ride my bike past often and it has all crushed stone around it. A LOT of crushed stone. Not a speck of lawn or grass, but some trees and a few little perennial plantings. But maybe a quarter-acre of small crushed stone. It’s ugly and it sucks to walk on I’ll bet. Probably expensive as sod too. I always wonder as I ride by how that decision was made.

        Are you really painting your front door black?

      • June 11, 2009 7:07 pm

        There is such a thing as too much low maintenance, right?

        Yes, I’m really going to paint it black, or such a dark brown that it looks black. My house is tan and white and the contrast will look really nice. I see it in the home dec magazines and websites all the time. Or maybe I’ll go for red. That’s supposed to be a fortuitous color. No one can see my front door from the street anyway, unless you come right up in front of my house, and you usually have to be walking to do that, and going out of your way. 🙂

Comments are closed.

