Skip to content

I can walk it. Can I run it?

June 13, 2009

I saw the sign for this 5K run and I’ve walked this route before easily but can I run it? I’m seriously thinking about it. This is the Mill Creek Run of the Mill 5k. Read here for more info. What do my running friends think? It’s held on July 11th this year.

Here’s my biggest question though: If I register and participate, will I get scolded or frowned upon if I have to walk a little bit?

Oh, and the video tells us they’re allowing dogs in the race. Lily’s too small to run, of course, but I wonder if my walking friend will let me take her lead dog, Jake along. 5K is nothing for Jake. He runs 10K with us every time we walk.

One Comment
  1. June 14, 2009 9:04 am

    Claire, without a doubt, without hesitation, without one ounce of concern, I say sign up now. Absolutely no one during a race will ever judge you for walking some… in fact there’s a whole marathon philosophy that teaches people to achieve more using the walk/run technique.

    Besides that, I bet you can get ready to run the whole thing without too much heartburn. The key is to go slowly and just keep moving forward. I absolutely know 100 percent that you can achieve this. Races are so motivating — you’ll see every size and shape of runner. And everyone out there is just enjoying the day.

    Do it. Write about it. Celebrate it. You won’t regret it.

Comments are closed.

