Skip to content

Setting the bar higher

June 14, 2009

image

Saturday I spent the day biking with a friend. To the left is the map of our route. This is the Burke-Gilman Trail that is very popular in the Seattle area. We started up in the top right of the map (Tracy Owen Station Park), and went all the way down to where the blue line ends, past the gap, to where the blue line starts again (Ballard Locks), and then back. Add in a little half mile detour where we thought we lost the trail (that empty part of the mark) and our total mileage was just about 30 miles roundtrip.

Yup. Thirty miles. Just last week we did fifteen and today we doubled that. When we got to the Ballard Locks we stopped and had some lunch on the grass at the botanical gardens and listened to a band play. At one point, I caught the tune of what they were playing and it was “What a wonderful life". I sort of choked up a bit at the serendipity of that song playing just then and where my life has taken me over the last year or so. I am so incredibly grateful for everything – and everyone – in my life. I couldn’t be more blessed right now.

Here are some pictures for you of the day.

Remind you a bit of Sleepless in Seattle?  IMG_9693

Me in Fremont, near the Lake Washington Rowing Club. The view is looking east up toward Portage Bay and the University of Washington.

IMG_9697

Another gorgeous houseboat near the Fremont Bridge.

IMG_9698

Where we had lunch. Yum. (Didn’t worry about my points, since I had my weekly allowance still, and I calculated that I earned about 24 activity points over the course of the ride!)

IMG_9700

Waiting for lunch.

IMG_9703

I had to capture this. Do you think they also sell ice cold fake sodas?

IMG_9705

Me at the Ballard Locks

IMG_9706

Clearly the photographer is making me laugh.

IMG_9707

Looking down through the locks that lead out to the Sound.

IMG_9708 

After we got back to our starting point, we rested and walked out along a dock. Pretty willow tree.

IMG_9710

I just love shots of lakes through the trees.

IMG_9712

Some of the local residents along the lakefront.

IMG_9716

So after thirty miles and five hours out and about (about 4 of those actually riding), I’m feeling almost capable of doing just about anything! 

6 Comments
  1. June 14, 2009 8:56 am

    look at you… so skinny in your work out gear…

    • June 14, 2009 7:09 pm

      Teri, thanks! Those shorts sure made a difference in the ride, that’s for sure.

  2. June 14, 2009 7:00 pm

    You’re kicking my butt for sure! The most we usually cycle in a day is about 20 miles and I have to have many snacks along the way or I get ‘wobbly’ (is that a word?). Hans and I both agree that you see so much more if you see it from a bike. This is such a pretty time of the year here too but I’ve always wanted to see your part of Washington. Someday! And BTW, aren’t you just hot stuff!

    • June 14, 2009 7:14 pm

      Laura, you are right – you see so much more from a bike. And this area up here is really suited for cyclists – there are routes just about everywhere and when the sun is out, that’s about all you see are bicyclists. It’s just gorgeous and so much fun. Come on out here anytime, and I’d be happy to show you around.

      And aren’t you sweet to say that. I sure feel great, that’s for sure!

  3. June 15, 2009 4:31 pm

    Ok, not a usual comment for me to make, but can I say, you are looking fabulous ! It looks like you had such a good day.
    30 miles ? MILES ? oh boy – so I got tired just looking at the map LOL ! Your posts should be motivating me to get off my duff – um yeh, ‘should’ 🙂

    • June 16, 2009 6:24 pm

      Thanks, Claire. I did have a great day. It helped that I had great company on the ride. I never, ever imagined I’d ride 30 miles in one trip, but I did it!

Comments are closed.

