Skip to content

Bicycling – It’s all in the Family

July 5, 2009

Did I mention that my oldest daughter now has a bicycle? We found a really cool one for her off Craigslist last Monday. Comfy seat, 21 gears, and she’s already tested out the bike trailer with it, I think. This weekend, she and I finally went out and got my granddaughter a new girly bike helmet and a bigger bike for my grandson. The one he had that he was riding on the trail last weekend was just too small and tired out his little legs.  We went to three stores looking for bikes and each one Cayden was so cute. He wanted them all. He was so excited to have a bigger bike. We went back to her house and her hubby swiftly put the bike together for Cayden. Unfortunately, Cindy had fallen at my house and sprained her ankle so she wasn’t able to get on her bike and ride in the cul-de-sac with the kids but she did later this weekend, so I hear.

Anyway, here are a few pics of the kids biking. I’m so tickled that they all have bikes now. Well, except for Cody and Evan. Evan’s too little and Cody prefers his skateboard – and that gives him a workout for sure!

It would have taken 24 hours and $10 for us to have this assembled by the store. Um, Cayden wouldn’t have waited for that!

IMG_9798

Cody and his little helper.

IMG_9804

Ready to be a speed demon and increase the heart rate of his grandma as he speeds down the hill – not to mention the heart rate of his mama!

By the way, this bike has both hand brakes – front and back – and coaster brakes. Excellent design because as he gets bigger he can transition to using the hand brakes instead of the coaster brakes.

IMG_9805

IMG_9806 

Dad supervising.

IMG_9807

IMG_9809

Look at that smile. Does that not just melt your heart?

IMG_9810

And did you notice that the bike is Seattle Seahawks green? His daddy loves that idea.

IMG_9811

IMG_9812 

What girl doesn’t deserve a pink bike? (I want one too!)

IMG_9813

Getting started

 IMG_9815

Ready, set, go

IMG_9816

The camera isn’t crooked… there really is a hill going up to the cul-de-sac. It was very hard for both of them the first day, but I hear from their mama that now they are maniacs riding up and down just fine.

IMG_9817

And of course, I had to get in on the action. I couldn’t resist! (On Cindy’s bike…)

IMG_9820

Seriously folks, riding a bicycle makes me feel like I’m 16 again, but better.

2 Comments
  1. July 6, 2009 5:09 pm

    Hooray for cycling! Looks like those adorable grandkids of yours had a lot of fun. Pretty impressive pink bike with the matching flip-flops. 🙂

    • July 6, 2009 6:30 pm

      Thanks David – you know I totally missed her matching pink flip flops. She’s more girly-girl than her grandma. LOL.

Comments are closed.

