Skip to content

Countdown to Race Day

July 9, 2009

Day after tomorrow – Saturday – I’m doing my first 5K run! The “Run of the Mill” in Mill Creek, WA. Woohooo! 5K is just over 3 miles. image

I’m pretty excited about doing this. I am sure I’ll do fine. The excitement is more about doing this in a large group, organized activity manner. I’ve never done this before, and at 49, it just goes to show it is never to late to try something new. (Actually, the more I do this stuff, the younger I feel.)

I’ve worked hard to get here and have a ways to go still, but it’s progress, not perfection. Yesterday I went out and did 4 miles of mostly running and about 1/3 walking and incorporating some hills – my usual route near home. Today I plan to do it again, although possibly a different route, and tomorrow will be a rest day so that I’m not too tired Saturday morning.

I’ll keep you posted with pictures of race day. I have my photographer daughter on call to photo-document the event for me! And my little grandsons will also be there cheering me on. How cool is that? Icing on the cake.

One Comment
  1. July 10, 2009 4:14 pm

    You’re doing more than I ever did!! Good for you. Even when I was running 8 or more miles a day I never entered a 5K. What’s kind of strange is, before I had kids I couldnt’ run. I would always get a hideous stitch in my side after just a few steps. Apparently having kids must have stretched some tummy muscles because I never suffer from that now. I’m also lucky that I don’t have issues that other women who’ve had kids do; I don’t have ‘tinkle’ problems, if you know what I mean! Life can be cruel and I’m pretty sure God is a man!!!!

Comments are closed.

