Skip to content

My First 5K Run – A Success!

July 12, 2009

I had the greatest time in this run. Wow, the energy, the people, the excitement. The one thing I didn’t expect to feel was the energy of the crowd taking off after the gun start. I just seemed to flow right along with them. I ran nearly the entire 5K with just a few pauses walking briskly – usually up a slight incline, but even one of those I ran. It was quite hot, and I tried to find the shady spots to run in, but even with that, this route was quite easy, really. I think the training route I’ve been doing on my own has helped, which has some extended hills.

Another observation – anything goes in these things. Seriously. There are all kinds of participants. There are serious runners, family runners, teams, walkers, walkers or runners with dogs or strollers. I even saw one little boy about the size of my 4 year old grandson who ran the whole way with his mommy.

My daughter, her husband, and my two grandsons were there to cheer me on and take pictures and were there when I crossed the finish line. I didn’t see them when I came back because there were so many people. (Stay tuned for a later post with pictures.)

My daughter told me that she cried when I started the run – that she was so proud of me and how far I’ve come. I cry just thinking about how proud she is of me.

And I’m proud of me – check out these results? How cool is this that I came in about middle of the pack for my first race ever. This is just awesome for this 49 year old woman with fibromyalgia. Goes to show with determination, perseverance, prayer, motivation, healthy choices, and the support of a loving family and friends, a person can do anything.

Oh, and after the race I felt GREAT! No sore feet, no sore legs or back – only a slight ache in one muscle, but that’s going away. Just feeling great.

image

7 Comments
  1. Jane permalink
    July 23, 2009 7:19 am

    Thanks for posting your story! I am doing my first 5K on Saturday with my 23 year old son. I am looking forward to it but was nervous that they would all be die hard runners and I would be intimidated. I’m glad there will be other like me, not quite in shape yet:-)

    • July 23, 2009 7:23 am

      Good luck to you, Jane! I had the same fear as you before I signed up. There were hardcore runners (there was a $ prize involved) but there were also people who were not yet in shape either. The point is just do it – regardless. Let me know how it goes. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My First Day Hike in Years « Little Miss Sew N Sew
  2. My First Day Hike in Years @ Health blog
  3. My First Day Hike in Years » test
  4. My First Day Hike in Years - Heal Blog
  5. test » My First Day Hike in Years

Comments are closed.

