Skip to content

My First Day Hike in Years

July 12, 2009

I tried to remember the last time I went on a hike. I think it was about six years ago up on Orcas Island when some friends and I hiked up to Mt. Constitution and back. Prior to that, I think I was about 17.

Today a friend and I went on a hike up near Granite Falls. Because, you know, I didn’t get enough activity yesterday with my 5K run. We went to Lake 22 which is up around the North Cascades in Washington. Round trip, this hike is 5.4 miles, with an elevation gain of 1,350 feet, and the highest point was 2,400 feet.

After a hot day yesterday, today’s weather was a complete change – cool, rainy, and there were thunderstorms last night, and again tonight. We went anyway – I’m not going to be kept indoors from a little rain. In fact, I welcomed the feel of rain cooling me down as we hiked up the switchbacks, over river streams and waterfalls, and through the wet smell of forest. Yummy.

Normally, I’m told, this trail is quite popular, but I think we were lucky because with the weather there weren’t too many people out. It was just a gorgeous day to me – rain or not – and my body is totally amazing me. It seems to be doing better and better. I did fine with the elevation climb and the return. I”m told I have good endurance. The only thing tonight I had to do was ice my back a little bit.

The best part? Sharing all this with a friend and enjoying the combination of sharing and silence. Just being in the moment – totally in the moment.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Getting started.

IMG_9892

IMG_9893

I could sit and listen to that rushing water all day long.

IMG_9894

Some good hiking boots and a backpack are on the list to get – soon!

IMG_9895

IMG_9896

Nearing the top… and into the clouds

IMG_9898

IMG_9899

IMG_9901

The view from our resting spot up at the top before heading back down.

IMG_9907

What a glorious life I’m living. I have no complaints, whatsoever.

4 Comments
  1. July 13, 2009 7:36 am

    Those photos are really beautiful, and you look beautiful, too, Claire. How nice it is to read that you can get in the moment and are enjoying every second of it. I haven’t been “in the moment” since I don’t know when. My head is always somewhere else.

    • July 13, 2009 8:35 pm

      Wendy – I love that mystical look of some of those photos. Aren’t they awesome. You are too sweet. You will be in the moment one of these days soon…Keep the faith!

  2. Mary permalink
    July 13, 2009 7:57 am

    Thanks for taking us on your trip to Lake 22. I grew up in Granite Falls and we would hike up there for family picnics when I was growing up. I also remember camping in Verlot with my Aunt and Uncle. Great pictures! Also congratulations on completing your 5K…you rock!!!

    • July 13, 2009 8:35 pm

      You’re welcome, Mary. I remember you telling me you were from the Granite Falls area. It’s gorgeous out there. Stay tuned… More hikes in the future! I’ll definitely be sharing. And thanks for the congrats on the 5K.

Comments are closed.

