Skip to content

All work and no play makes a very boring blog post

July 19, 2009

It’s been very quiet, I know, on my blog this last week. That’s because all I’ve been doing, pretty much, is working. I had a deadline last week at work and my boss was on vacation so that meant very long days for me. All that work following the prior weekend of running and hiking means I’ve been a tired girl. Plus, I’m fighting either very bad allergies or a low grade cold. I’m hoping its the former and will respond to the allergy meds I just took out a loan to purchase (not really) since I found out I apparently don’t have very good prescription coverage.

I have had a social life, however. I went to a dinner party on Thursday for some friends who were having anniversary celebrations of a sort, one of those being my mother. We do this every month – meet at a favorite restaurant and celebrate life and each other. There are usually anywhere from 10-20 of us, but since my mom was the guest of honor this time, it was even more special.

And, since I’ve lost nearly 75 pounds now, I have no clothes to wear. And yes, I know, I could be sewing up a storm, but I’m not. I’ll talk about that in a minute… Instead, I went on the hunt for a new dress for the dinner party. I wanted something summery and a little on the flirtatious side. I think I found the right dress because I got a lot of compliments on it. That, or my hard work on weight loss and exercise is paying off – or both.

Here is a self portrait I took before I headed out.

IMG_9912 

Now, about sewing. Yes, I could have sewn up that dress so easily. It’s a knit with a tie back around the empire waist. However, being as busy as I have been with work, Weight Watchers, and summer activities, I just haven’t had time. And this year, we’ve had remarkable warm, sunny summer weather starting in May (unusual around here) and it’s still going strong. There will be plenty of time to sew when the weather turns cold and wet.

In addition, now that I’ve pretty much reinvented myself and my shape, it is much easier to fit into store-bought clothes and when I can find a dress ready made, off the rack, for the same price or less than it would cost me to make it (fabric & pattern, not to mention my time), the choice is easy.

What about activity? Yesterday I did get in a nice four-mile walk with a friend in the heat of the 85 degree afternoon. (Love that hot sun!) Today, I plan to get in another four miles by hooking up my Zune (MP3 player) and doing my running/walking route which I like. I’ve noticed that a whole week without activity and I get a little out of sorts. Chatting with my friend yesterday helped me figure that out, as I couldn’t quite figure out why during the week I was just a tad restless,, irritable, and discontent.

Ok, I’d better get moving…

Have a great day, my bloggy friends.

10 Comments
  1. July 19, 2009 12:11 pm

    cute dress! for me, summer is when i have the most time to sew… not busy with school and driving the boys all over town.

    • July 19, 2009 2:03 pm

      I understand that, Teri. If I still had kids in school, I’d probably be doing the same thing. I feel very fortunate to be single, footloose, and fancy free right now.

  2. July 19, 2009 1:17 pm

    WOW! Congrats on the weight loss. That is so exciting. Hope you start to feel better!!!!!!

    • July 19, 2009 2:04 pm

      Thanks She-Fit. I feel great these days. And I like your blog. I went over there the other day and checked it out. 🙂

  3. Mary permalink
    July 19, 2009 1:59 pm

    Look at you pretty lady!!!

  4. July 19, 2009 2:36 pm

    Claire, You look fabulous! Congrats on all the sacrifices, hard work, dedication, and everything else it took for you to get here. Your journey has been nothing short of amazing.

    • July 19, 2009 5:45 pm

      Hi Debbie! Thank you so much. I miss hearing from you but I’m enjoying what your sharing about your new sewing machines! I hope all is well with you and you aren’t melting in the heat where you are. 🙂

  5. July 20, 2009 4:25 pm

    You look great!! I love the dress and nothing says we have to make everything we wear!!! Actually it can be difficult to fit sewing into an active lifestyle so I sew for the fun of it and always try to remember to get out for some excercise. I’m of the mind that if people excercised more they would definitely feel better. Depression runs in my family and sometimes I feel like I’m running from the devil but nothing feels better to me than the end of a day filled with physical activity. I can’t believe you’ve lost 75 pounds! That’s incredible!

    • July 20, 2009 6:28 pm

      Thanks, Laura. I love sewing, but I’m loving the activity and health benefits of that activity better. Depression runs in my family and I know activity/exercise battles that. Intellectually I knew that for years. I now know it from experience. And Yup… nearly 75. To be exact: 74 as of tonight! Next week should hit the 75 mark.

Comments are closed.

