Skip to content

Everything changes or dies – even this blog

July 29, 2009

This blog started out as a place to showcase my sewing. I still love to sew. The only problem is that my life has changed so dramatically in the last 18 months that I rarely sew anymore. I feel like the name of my blog is a misnomer. It’s also a pun and I know at least one person caught that when they first saw my blog title. 🙂

I’ve found that more and more I want to write and share about things other than sewing. (I know, you’re like, duh!) I want to talk about weight loss, running, walking, bicycling, decorating, style, philosophy, and life events. I feel like the format I’ve created on Little Miss Sew N Sew doesn’t work for that, even though I’ve been doing writing about all those things here. I have this weird guilt feeling every time I post about something that’s not sewing. Silly, I know. I guess that’s just the web designer in me – I feel like my website needs to reflect who I am and correspond with the purpose of the site. Also, there are a huge number of really good sewing blogs out there, and those whose skills are far better than mine, that I don’t feel a need to compete or create a sewing blog that gets thousands of visitors and comments.

Consequently, I’ve started a completely new website, with my own domain. Ta da!

www.cadenceoflife.com

My new website still needs some work and tweaking on the visual format, and for now, I’m double posting here and there. Some of my favorite posts from this blog and other blogs I’ve started (and let lapse) will be moved over to the new site and my goal is that my new site will be the sole place where I post and provide a more comprehensive journal and resource for anything related to living my life. I don’t want to feel limited by guilt that I’m not posting about just sewing.

What will happen to this blog? I’ll keep it as a place to document any sewing I do. Maybe over time, I’ll blog about sewing on my new site and let this one go completely. I haven’t decided yet.

I believe that everything in life changes and grows, or else it withers and dies. The same goes with blogs. I’m changing and growing too, and I want to reflect that properly in my new website.

I hope you’ll follow me over there too. I appreciate all my bloggy friends and readers – even those who lurk and don’t comment. I hope that you continue to find something useful (here or at www.cadenceoflife.com) that you can use and take with you.

2 Comments
  1. July 29, 2009 6:35 am

    I can totally relate to where you are coming from. I just changed the banner on my blog to reflect the same thing….I wanted it to show the many facets of who I am, not just one thing….bookmarking your new site now 🙂

  2. July 29, 2009 4:52 pm

    I do know what you mean as my sewing is about 1/4 of what I blog about, but I don’t think I’ll be changing anything as posting takes up enough time as it is. Whatever you decide, I’ll continue to read anyway!

Comments are closed.

