Skip to content

Scenes from my morning walk

April 18, 2009

I calculated our walk this morning as nearing 7 or 8 miles, all totaled. It could be more, but it was hard to figure out precisely. It was a lovely walk. Four of us women, three dogs (two golden retriever pups and one sweet mutt). I didn’t take Lily, but I will as soon as I get her a carrier that I have in mind.

Anyway, we walked through a nature preserve, then through beautiful lakeside neighborhoods, on down into central Kirkland, and then back up the main street (a good mile of that up a gentle hill), and then back to our starting point. We walked for two hours and fifteen minutes. Probably 15 of that was eaten up by restroom breaks. So, still, that’s some good exercise.

Along the way, here’s a bit of what I saw.

A mama and daddy turtle, chilling on a log.

IMG_9087

With the babies

IMG_9089 

IMG_9091

This was the view as we walked down a residential street. If you aren’t familiar with the area, that’s the Seattle skyline in the distance, looking across Lake Washington.

IMG_9099 

A beautiful two-colored camelia bush. I’ve never seen anything like that. At least, I *think* that’s a camelia.

IMG_9101

This tree was even prettier in person with the morning sun filtering through.

IMG_9102

I was so envious of this upper deck on this house. Can you imagine sitting out there with some morning coffee staring off into the distance across the lake?

IMG_9103

I also like this style of architecture.

IMG_9104

I would have taken more pictures of homes, but I felt kinda weird snapping photos of people’s homes. There were some that were far more incredible than these two.

A resting spot.

IMG_9106 

I ended the day over at my daughter’s house. I had a belated Easter gift to give to my littlest grandson, Evan.

IMG_9116

That’s a little blue lamb that his brother, Cayden, promptly named “Foofi”.

IMG_9120

Finally, a quick self-portrait of my adorable grandson, Cayden, and me.

IMG_9130

It’s been a great day. I’m exhausted. I calculated that I earned about 11 activity points during my walk. It better show up on the scale Monday or I’m really going to have to figure out what I’m doing wrong with my food.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

4 Comments
  1. April 19, 2009 5:10 am

    All great pics, but WOW, the turtle pics are adorable! 😀

  2. April 19, 2009 9:04 am

    Lovely walk. Love the scenery – where did you start? I need to get the hubby and dogs out and just hate taking the dogs on the Burke Gilman trail. g

  3. April 19, 2009 10:09 am

    The photos are great. I love the baby turtles but at this point in time I’m lovin’ baby anything. I’m happy you had such a wonderful walk. That’s a great photo of you with Cayden.

  4. April 20, 2009 7:09 am

    I love your photos. We’re benefiting from your walks! And “7 or 8” miles? The next thing we know you’ll be running marathons! 🙂

Comments are closed.