Skip to content

If y’all do it, it must be normal

May 6, 2007

One of my favorite blogs to read is Debbie Cook’s Stitches and Seams and she confesses today that when she can’t sew, she shops for sewing related stuff. So do others who commented on her blog. And now, I confess, so do I.  Only today I had to shop for non-sewing-related stuff, like calendars, notepads, shoes, puppy training pads, and other household items. I got absolutely no sewing done at all. And I haven’t for a while, either.

I also appreciate hearing confessions that others have 1,000 or more projects waiting to someday be completed and they are okay with that. Who says we have to kill ourselves and pressure ourselves to meet some sort of invisible race to get our projects completed? Who am I racing against? Ya, it would be nice if I had the discipline to start a project and not start another one, or even dream of another one, until the first was finished. That’s just not me. Never will be, and I accept that.

It’s refreshing to know that there are others that way as well, and by knowing I’m not alone, it gives me permission (more than I already gave myself) to just relax and let life happen and enjoy all aspects of the creative process – even if at times I feel as if I’m stuck in the inspiration phase more than the development or production stages.

Life gets in the way of sewing. And that’s just okay by me.

3 Comments
  1. May 7, 2007 4:32 am

    I’ve often thought the same thing but that’s just not the way I’m wired. Ever since I was a young child my mind was miles ahead thinking up the next project long before the one I was working on was completed.

    Isn’t it great that we’re all different? Some of us go in a hundred different directions at once but we’re satisfied with what we accomplish just as much as those that start and finish one project at a time.

  2. thesecretpocket permalink
    May 7, 2007 4:41 am

    I sometimes get very tired of sewing and have absolutely no interest at all in sewing for pleasure. This happens especially when I have had a very busy spat with sewing work. At those times I just do other things…knit, bead, shop for clothes.

    One of the things I’ve really been enjoying about blogging and reading blogs lately is that it does tend to keep me inspired even though I’ve had quite a bit of work lately.

  3. May 7, 2007 6:07 am

    You know that I’m in the same team as you are and I’m teasing you more than anything when I bet with Lily, right?

    I hadn’t touched the sewing machine in weeks until last night. Sometimes life gets in the way and there is not alot of sense in feeling guilty about it 🙂 Have a great day today at your new job!!! g

Comments are closed.